Portal 2 runs superb on 2011 15" AMD 6750 highest settings

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by aznguyen316, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. aznguyen316, Apr 18, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011

    aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #1
    Portal 2 on 2011 MBP 15" high end

    Saw that it was getting mad FPS like +120 so I turned on vsync triple buffered and had it locked at a clean 60FPS, helped with some screen tearing I saw early on.

    Everything max settings, there's a very high for shaders. No AntiAliasing, 1680x1050 hi-res antiglare screen. Game looks beautiful!
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    Sounds good. I don't know if I'll buy Portal 2 (probably, but I don't know) but I do hope to swap out my desktop for a 15-inch MBP some time this summer, so it's good to know the game runs well.
     
  3. jonnyram macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #3
    If anyone with a 2010 MBP has this, I'd love to hear some details about performance. I've got the PS3 version on order, but might be tempted to double-dip beforehand if I hear the performance is good enough on my MBP.
     
  4. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    You know the PS3 version comes with a free Steam version? No need to double dip :D
     
  5. jonnyram macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #5
    I know it does. I just don't know if I can wait the week for it to get here :p
    Besides, I can probably then gift the version that comes with the PS3, right? Is that too much of an assumption.
     
  6. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    It's only a week though, not too long to wait to save $50 or so. And I'm not sure, I think you have to link your game to the Steam account to do it, so you can probably gift it, I'm just not sure if linking to someone else's account would have any negative effects.
     
  7. jonnyram macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #7
    You are right. I'm just getting excited with everyone else playing it :)
    I'll take some deep breaths and wait for it to be delivered.
     
  8. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Yeah, I can understand that. But in a week you'd probably regret buying another copy :p
     
  9. aznguyen316 thread starter macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  10. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
  11. aznguyen316, Apr 19, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011

    aznguyen316 thread starter macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #11
    Well yeah there are always dips, although I didn't notice it dip below 30 re-watching it. But when it comes to vsync usually it's 60 and if it can't do at least 60 then it'll drop to 30. I played another hour or so after the video and 60 was the norm. No big deal. If I wanted to I could just turn off vsync and have it WOW UBER AMAZING FPS but that's not really the point.
     
  12. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #12
    Agree. Also with vsync off you put more strain on the gpu. So i agree. Great video btw

    Enjoying the game?
     
  13. aznguyen316 thread starter macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #13
    Thanks, I'm enjoying it very much =) definitely prettier than the original, although the beginning levels are repeats of the first game, just in a busted, wild-life setting. Comical writing and the portal aspect still amazes me. Very unique style of gameplay. Prob won't be able to finish it off until after my finals.
     
  14. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #14
    Sounds awesome.

    Got exams in robotics myself so i dont dare to touch the game. Or else i loose precious study time. Oh well. Loved the first one so hopefully i enjoy this one aswell.
     
  15. noogin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #15
    I was playing Crysis 2 earlier, even at overclocked 725/950 it can't handle Hardcore mode with stable fps :/ with no vertical sync it runs Advanced just fine and smooth.

    What does vertical sync really mean and how does it apply 'strain to the GPU'. If the GPU blows, wouldn't applecare cover it anyways? Just gotta delete bootcamp and MSI lol
     
  16. aznguyen316 thread starter macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #16
    I only use vsync when I know I can afford the FPS loss. Basically I rarely do AA, and then next is vsync. The extra load comment not meaning anything like blowing your GPU, but more like taking away from other graphical features like shaders or detail settings. Anyway, off topic but for Crysis 2, use the advanced graphics setting from wasdie (google it) and you can run higher settings if you turn off anti-aliasing. Game models/details look great and jagged edges never bothered me.
     
  17. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #17
    adding strain doesn't mean its doing something that will damage it... it just means its making it work harder, so you will lose some fps. vsync just syncs the rate at which its drawing frames on the screen with the refresh rate your screen is running, so they are synced. When the frame rate is much higher than the screens refresh rate, it can result in what you see that people call "tearing" because the updates are a bit out of sync. It just takes some extra work for the GPU to try to match these up, which can cause a bit of loss in performance. Now if your settings are all right and your GPU is strong enough, you won't notice any loss in performance.
     
  18. noogin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #18
    wow awesome performance booster via that app! thanks man

    so you typically run all ur games with no AA and no vsync?
     
  19. aznguyen316 thread starter macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #19
    Typically yes. I don't see much visual benefit of AA, especially since I prefer to run games at native resolution and with higher res available now adays jaggies are harder to see. V-sync usually I don't bother since some games I play I cap FPS like in SC2 or WoW at 30 so it's stable. Other games I don't notice screen tearing much and want the performance boost toward other aspects as I've mentioned shaders is a big visual boost.

    I have a kind of set thing of how I like my games and prefer them. Meaning I have a priorities list of what I prefer to have maxed out and what I don't mind turning down to get the higher priorities to a level I'm happy with. Sometimes you just can't max out things you want so you put it at what's best, for example SC2 is better off at high shaders than ultra, and then go on to the next priority setting.

    Lowest on my list is AA, v-sync, shadows, Anisotropic filtering (AF)
    Highest on priority is usually resolution (native), shaders, and details/models and textures
     
  20. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #20
    Just remember if you see the fps is well over 60 and stable use vsync.

    If you have 120fps the card will get warm because it has to draw alot of frames. If you have vsync the card doesnt sweat as much. A good exampe is sims 3 on my gaming pc.

    The gtx 590 works as hell because the game doesnr have vsync and has to draw 300 frames a second. It gets warmer compared to when i plsy crysis 2 on max for hours.

    So if you have well over 60 fps. Enable vsync. Helps the pc keep cool aswel.

    Btw looking forward to how bf3 will handle on the mbp 15
     
  21. noogin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #21
    mind telling me what settings you use for sc2? in osx, my mbp can't handle ultra settings smoothly :/ havent messed with sc2 in windows yet
     
  22. aznguyen316 thread starter macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #22
    Basically HIGH across the board. Looks great and performs very well. No need to go ultra.
     
  23. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #23
    15" 2.3 here as well, had it driving my 30" Cinema Display. Runs great with everything maxed. Fans get a little loud though...
     
  24. noogin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #24
    niceee, would love a 30' ACD, do u play sc on max resolution on it?
     

Share This Page