Portal on a MacBook?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by GFLPraxis, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #1
    Obviously, since there's no Mac version of Portal, I'd be running it under Boot Camp. I've been considering purchasing Portal via Steam (no need to buy the whole Orange Box, I just want Portal), but I have no idea if my system can run it well.

    I don't care about maxing out settings, but will the game look fine with a good framerate on my Core Duo MacBook w/2 GB of RAM? Can the GMA950 cut it?
     
  2. 1ncr3du10u5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #2
    Judging by this thread I would say not, but who knows, perhaps someone can get it working. Good luck! :)
     
  3. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I can only assume that it would run it decently. portal and TF2 are not high graphic intense games. But don't quote me on that, because I don't have a macBook.:apple:
     
  4. mateus macrumors member

    mateus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Valves games seem to have good backwards compatibility (HL2 runs sweet on my old Dell laptop). So I would think that it would run but the graphics options would have to be set low & you'll probably only get 25fps (if that!).

    I think the GMA950 is a Dx8 card so Portal will run in Dx8 mode.
     
  5. djstarrock macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #5
    No the gma 950 is Dx7 graphics chip.
     
  6. triddent222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere interesting
    #6
    Actually, I would say TF2 is pretty much on par with Episode 2 in terms of graphics. Cel-Shaded graphics don't necessarily mean the game is graphically simple, TF2 is not. It's a beautiful game, beautifully developed. Episode 2 looks amazingly good, and Valve has done a great job at faking stuff (like trees, which look amazing from afar, and when you use the car [that thing is fast but upon close inspection, the geometry is quite simple).

    To the OP: I don't think the integrated graphics on the MacBook could be able to handle a game like Portal; yet, i've seen some amazing stuff come up later on on a game's life-cycle (such as the Ugly Mod for Oblivion [which I can't recall the name of], which made possible running Oblivion on old computers; true, it looked like crap...)
     
  7. GFLPraxis thread starter macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #7
  8. djstarrock macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #8
  9. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    No, they're not. Episode 2 uses projected shadows and higher resolution textures, bump mapping is a lot more prominent in Ep 2 also.
    Plus Ep2 is also running AI and uses more physic objects which, whilst not affecting the graphics card will be a strain on the CPU.

    I recommend downloading the HL2 demo and see how well that runs with settings on high (but not AA or AF). I'd estimate that to be like Portal with low quality graphics.
     
  10. triddent222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere interesting
    #10
    TF2 Uses Soft-shadows, Normal maps, HDR+Bloom, Physics, AI, etc. True, the Physics and AI on Episode 2 are way more complex, but TF2 still requires quite a bit of processing power. I didn't say it was "better" or equal I said "pretty much" which means, "almost", to what degree, we could argue that for a couple more hours.
     
  11. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    I only listed what Ep2 has over TF2.

    Case in point, I can run TF2 with everything on max (with AAx2 and AFx8 though) in 1440*900 and get a nice 30fps.
    Episode 2 I need to turn shadows to low, HDR and motion blur off, texture quality to medium and water to reflect world only with AA off to get it at 30fps.
    Portal is like TF2, only for some reason the water effect has to be put to simple reflection to keep it at 30fps.

    No doubt Ram will have a big part to play too, since EP2 maps take up much more memory than TF2. Phong Shading takes up a chunk of resources too, but theres no way to turn that off :eek:
     
  12. gtgidemgreen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I think it would work

    My netbook works with steam so a macbook should do fine, although the mac version doesn't support intel graphics cards.
     
  13. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    This thread is almost three years old, I should hope that they have their answer by now :p
     
  14. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #14
    It might be 3 years old, but Portal on OSX came out a few months ago, and I just bought it a few days ago as an Xmas treat, and I still can't get it to work :(

    My Macbook: 4GB, X3100 graphics, 2.2GHZ

    I've tried all the launch options given in another thread:
    Code:
    -mat_dxlevel 70
    -mat_dxlevel 90
    -dxlevel 80
    +mat_forcehardwaresync 0 +snd_async_prefetch_priority 1
    +mat_forcehardwaresync 0 +snd_async_prefetch_priority 1 -console -heapsize 256000 -dxlevel 80 -width 1280 -height 800 -novid +cl_drawmonitors 0 +r_shadowrendertotexture 0
    +mat_forcehardwaresync 0 +snd_async_prefetch_priority 1 -console -heapsize 256000 -dxlevel 80 -width 800 -height 600 -novid +cl_drawmonitors 0 +r_shadowrendertotexture 0 -window -dxlevel 80
    
    but had no luck :( People have said they run Portal fine on X3100 graphics in BootCamp / XP so it should be workable in OSX right ?
     
  15. savvos, Dec 30, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010

    savvos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #15
    You might have a bad install of Portal. Try deleting the local content (right click on it in Steam) and download it again. I have the (mostly) same computer and Portal works fine, if slow.
     
  16. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #16
    nope... very different. X3100 has better DirectX support, which is being used in Windows, than OpenGL support, which has to be used in OSX.
     
  17. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #17
    Deleted all local content for Portal, redownloaded (took a couple of hours), rebooted my macbook just to clear the decks, and tried Portal again.

    No dice. Same error as always : "This game does not support this type of graphics processor"

    Grr. Currently have options set at:
    -mat_dxlevel 80 -width 640 -height 480

    Any ideas? This guy on YouTube with same computer as me has Steam Portal running on OSX :

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0v6YIFH7_8
     
  18. savvos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #18
    I forgot the obvious: are you running Snow Leopard? Snow Leopard has optimized a lot of things for Source (Valve) games and if you are running Leopard or Tiger it might not cut it. If you are running the latest version of Snow Leopard, then I'm out of ideas.
     
  19. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #19
    Yes, latest Snow Leopard, fully updated. Hmm. Scratches head.

    Perhaps it's because I only have the most recent Portal files? Maybe earlier versions were more compatible? But Portal on OSX only came out a few months ago.

    I don't have many fancy OSX add-ons or mods - I try to keep this macbook relatively vanilla. Xcode, Growl, Perian, MacFUSE (for NTFS access) and Dropbox are installed, and that's about it. I don't have Bootcamp - I run Windows in VMWare so that I can store snapshots.

    Can I ask - when changing launch options for Portal (or other Steam games), do you need to restart Steam? All I do is change the option, then close the game prefs window and retry the game. I haven't bothered to close Steam or reboot each time. (I did try rebooting once but it made no difference)
     
  20. Mackilroy, Dec 31, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2010

    Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #20
    Steam does not support the GMA 950 or X3100 anymore. You're out of luck. If you don't believe me, ask rbarris. :) He works for Valve IIRC.
     
  21. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #21
    Ah that's interesting. He just told me yesterday in another thread:
    I didn't know he works for Valve. I was rather taken aback by his statement as there are many reports and YouTube videos of Portal etc working on OSX & X3100. Thanks for clearing all that up.

    So you mean Steam / Valve / Source etc USED to work on OSX X3100 / GMA 950 and no longer does so? That's a bummer. Guess I've thrown £30 down the drain then even though I checked that the games I wanted (Portal, HL and a few others) worked on OSX & X3100, and they've only been out on Steam a few months :(
     
  22. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #22
    Oops, bad word choice. I should have said Source, not Steam in general. My mistake. :)
     
  23. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #23
    Update:

    I looked elsewhere and found that the fact that the game ran on the GMA950/X3100 initially was an oversight.

    It was an unsupported configuration which ran at one time, but caused so many support calls that Valve understandably put in a hardware check to stop it from running.

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1561707

    I work in IT support myself and I fully understand the need to restrict operations to known good hardware configurations. It's just that this issue wasn't clear to me before.

    I'm posting in this thread as it might help others to understand why there are so many videos out there showing Valve games running on Macbooks etc when now they currently don't.

     

Share This Page