Portforwarding on a Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by marbleduck, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. marbleduck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #1
    I'd like to forward a port to a Win7 x86-running Macbook Air using an Airport Extreme, so I can host a server for a game without all that Hamachi crap. I have no idea where to start, any help is appreciated.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    AirPort Utility > Manual Setup > Advanced > Port Mapping

    Did you try these search results already?
     
  3. marbleduck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #3
    I guess I really just need to know how to find the local ip on a win7 comp.

    And I actually searched "airport extreme port mapping". The result I came up with didn't really work.

    Also, I don't know what "port configuration" or whatever to use for hosting a game...
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Start > Run > cmd > ipconfig /all
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    In Windows 5 and 5.1 one could find out via the command line, which is started via pressing WINDOWS KEY + R and entering CMD and pressing ENTER. I don't know about Windows 6 and 6.1 though.
    In the command line tool one enters the following code:
    Code:
    ipconfig /all
    That will give the address of the router and your IP address, but I guess one could find it also via the network preferences for the interface you have selected to connect to you home network (wirelessly or Ethernet).

    What didn't work?

    That could be asked on the message board regarding hosting the game you want to host.
     
  6. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #6
    My current-firmware Airport Extreme doesn't have that setting

    I have a gigabit Airport Express (single-band, so like 2-3 years old) and I'm running the latest firmware for it (7.5.2) but under 'Advanced' the 3 top-level tabs are 'Logging & Statistics', MobileMe, and IPv6 - the port forwarding is noticeably absent. When I search for the setting in the top right corner, port mapping comes up - but when I click it - nothing happens. It's like the search expects the function to be there - but it's actually not there.

    Any suggestions?

     
  7. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #7
    I've narrowed down my problem (sorry if I'm hi-jacking this thread, I think it's relevant): when I go to 'Internet' and 'Internet Connection' only when I change the 'Connection Sharing' options to an option other than 'Off (Bridge Mode)' - then under the top 'Advanced' Tab do I get port mapping. But I can't apply the settings because it says there's a DHCP IP range conflict.

    Help required :)
     

Share This Page