Porting Number question?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by str8spd2001, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. str8spd2001 macrumors regular

    str8spd2001

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I have a quick question about porting numbers. My parents will be visiting me down here in Los Angeles from San Diego and they're interested in the 3GS. They won't have a problem porting a San Diego area code in the apple store right? Also they will be moving from T-Mobile. The only reason I ask is cause a couple years back we went to one of those AT&T authorized dealer booth and they said that they had to go to a San Diego store to be able to do that....cause their computer doesn't allow different county area code or something like that. Thanx for any help.
     
  2. vespoli macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #2
    I was able to port a Northern Virginia Sprint number to a Southwest Virginia AT&T number during my switch to the iPhone without trouble.

    Of course, you could save a bit of a possible hassle if you -- or your folks -- call first.

    When I went in, the emphasis was on having the primary account holder's information, including full social.
     
  3. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I think as long as their address matches the area code of the number they're porting, it will be fine.
     
  4. Roosterfosho macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #4
    If they say they can't do it they are lying, it is much more work if there is a change in area code, but it's still possible. You just have to know how to work em;)
     
  5. str8spd2001 thread starter macrumors regular

    str8spd2001

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Thanx for all the reply guys. I just didn't want to take them to wait in line for 1/2 an hour or so just to have some kind of problem.
     

Share This Page