Possibilities with the Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Palleraa, Jul 10, 2009.

1. Palleraa macrumors member

Hello everyone

I'm trying to figure out the possbilities of the Airport Express. I have tried to draw up what I want and would like to know if t is possible.

[​IMG]

I want to use the Airport express as a frontend unit because of he ability to use AirTunes. Unfortunately my HDX 1000 is not wireless (NMT to play media to my TV from my NAS). Is it possible to extend the wired LAN from my Linksys to the AE and by that enable my HDX 1000 to play content from my NAS? Please let me know if you see any other problems with this setup.

/PalleRaa

2. masteroflondon macrumors regular

The only problem I could foresee is getting the Airport to wirelessly extend the Linksys. I have set up WDS before but using all Apple stuff. I have heard problems regarding mixing manufacturers, not sure wireless extending uses standards. I have no knowledge it won't work, but suggest this is the one area where you could have a problem.

Why not cable them together and have both systems act as bridges? I have multiple Airport Express', each acting as a wired to wireless bridge in various parts of the house so there's always a strong signal available.

I also bridged the router on my Linksys so it acts as just a modem. It then hands the internet to a Time Capsule that then does the routing for wired and wifi.

3. Palleraa thread starter macrumors member

The problem with wireing them together is that I need to single ethernet port on the Apple Express to connect to the HDX 1000.

4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

geoffreak

Wire the HDX 1000 and Airport Express directly to your router then.

5. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

slpdLoad

I have an AE, and you can't go that direction. You can extend a WIFI signal from another Apple access point (and maybe a few Linksys models), or you can use the AE as a router by plugging it into a modem.