Possible? 330M when plugged in, intel graphics when unplugged?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mikeulus, May 5, 2010.

  1. mikeulus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    My 2.4ghz i5 MBP runs a lot better when using discrete graphics. Minimizing and maximizing windows, scrolling, opening folders etc... all run smoother with the 330M. Is there a way to always run the 330M when plugged in, and switch to automatic graphics switching when unplugged? This would be the perfect solution for me.

    Thanks!
     
  2. BlackZ macrumors member

    BlackZ

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #2
    Just run skype in the background and the N will stay up :)
     
  3. mikeulus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #3
    reply...

    It's funny but you're actually right! When I have photoshop running in the background my computer becomes noticeably smoother and snappier.

    I guess I'm a bit too picky. I'm sure most people wouldn't even notice lol
     
  4. realz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Disable automatic graphics switching in energy preferences....
    Your battery life will significantly decrease by doing this (theoretically)
     
  5. Horus macrumors regular

    Horus

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #5
    After the Graphics update, the lag while using Intel HD Graphics disappeared.
     
  6. mikeulus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #6
    reply...

    How come they don't offer the graphics update through software update? I found it on the Apple site and I'm going to try it out.
     
  7. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    Is it me, or the OP is asking for
    battery : intel only
    power : nVidia

    but all the answers explain how to have the nVidia while using battery :confused::confused::confused:
     
  8. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #8
    What Graphics update? Could you please let us know? Thanks.
     
  9. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #9
    There is a bug in that program.
     
  10. MacVibe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #10
    To the original poster's question, yes, it is possible.

    However, apple currently does not "allow" it. I believe Apple is simply embarrassed to admit how well the intel graphics work and don't want to "empower" the consumer with the ability to only use them when working on battery. I think Apple will provide this functionality in an update at some point, especially if enough people complain. Until that time, we can wait for a hack.
     

Share This Page