Possible answer to ZiPhone problems.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Akitakoi, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. Akitakoi macrumors regular

    Akitakoi

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #1
    A Big thanks to dsgalit! For a simple answer.

    Several people have had problems when jailbreaking with ZiPhone's jailbreak.
    It seems that it is affecting phones that were previously jailbroken with various apps installed. I think it must be residual files causing most of the problems.

    Is there a way to completely wipe the phones memory? Reformat, whatever?

    Restore Via iTunes does not do that because some changes are still left on the phone after doing a restore.


    Just a little more info on my phone, 1.1.1 OTB, been jailbroke with ijailbreak.com, upgraded to 1.1.2 then jailbroke, restored to 1.1.3 several times. When running the ziphone jailbreak my email password is first accepted but when opening mail I get the wrong username or password error.
     
  2. Jayhawk85 macrumors member

    Jayhawk85

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Jackson, Mississippi
    #2
    I also noticed

    I started off with the very first iPhone firmware, jailbroken, and remained jailbroken up until 1.1.3 came out. I gave up the jailbreak to go to legit 1.1.3, and last night jailbroke the phone again using AriX method. It worked fantastic, and after installing mobileFinder I noticed lots of remnant files from old programs.

    This worries me a little bit; what is the guarantee that those little pieces won't mess things up later on? I just did a software restore and the iPhone capacity bar it is showing 191 megs of "other." Wft is this?
     
  3. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #3
    Restore your phone to 1.1.3, and choose NOT to back it up. Thats how I did it, and it works perfectly.
     
  4. Akitakoi thread starter macrumors regular

    Akitakoi

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    Ok, do you mean "set up as new phone"? After doing a restore/upgrade to 1.1.3?
    I tried that and my email still would not work.
     
  5. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #5
    if you are on a mac, easiest way to do it... make a new user account and do it there. OSX for some reason likes to restore your phone even if you dont want it to.

    So using a new user account that has never had your iphone on it, will work... Just hit "Do not backup" when you hit restore.
     
  6. PatrickC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #6
    Unless you restore as a new phone, prefs files from your now deleted apps will continually be put back on the iPhone from your backup. The files are likely not left on the phone, but transferred back when you choose to "restore from backup"
     
  7. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #7

    umm a 1.1.3 restore via itunes WILL blow away everything even your bb
     
  8. Akitakoi thread starter macrumors regular

    Akitakoi

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #8
    Just did a "clean" 1.1.3 restore, no back up and no restore from backup (Set up as New phone) my email and Locate me does not work after zijailbreak. Not that I care but no Utube either.
     
  9. PatrickC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #9
    While connected in iTunes, try putting the phone in DFU mode (hold the power and home button, release the power button when the screen goes black) and then do the restore. See what that effect that has.

    And what do you mean that your email doesn't work? Will the app not open?
     
  10. Aries326 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #10
    I agree. What I did to remove failed efforts to unlock and jailbreak my iPhone was the following:

    1 - dock the iPhone
    2 - Press Power and Home simultaneously and hold
    3- Release Power when you hear the first sounds from your PC indicating that the device is docked - KEEP HOME BUTTON DOWN!!!
    4 - Release the home button when you hear the 2nd series of sounds and it will then be recognized by iTunes as being in RECOVERY MODE
    5 - Now, restore your phone OR setup as a new phone - latest 1.1.3 software will be loaded onto your phone.

    This should get rid of all other jailbreaks or unlocks from your phone. Go ahead and use ziphone. Ziphone works great!!! I've got no problems at all on what is a Week 50 iPhone, 4.6 BL, OTB 1.1.2 It is now a jailbroken 1.1.3 phone with EVERYTHING working.
     
  11. Akitakoi thread starter macrumors regular

    Akitakoi

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #11
    Just did it all over again, clean jailbroken 1.1.3.

    This is the error message I get

    Cannot Get Mail
    The user name or password for "imap.apple.mail.yahoo.com" is incorrect


    Any idea's?:confused:
     
  12. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Aries326,

    How did you get Maps/Locateme working?
     
  13. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    That's not quite true. A lot of my preferences were kept and some other stuff, but I'm not sure exactly what.

    But, yes the firmware and baseband were both upgraded.
     
  14. PatrickC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #14
    Go to mail prefs, delete the account, then try to set it up again from the iPhone.
     
  15. PatrickC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #15
    Was this after a normal restore, or a restore and "Set up as new phone" option? The later should not transfer back any of your preferences.
     
  16. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #16
    I will second that motion. I wrote down my notes and any important SMS conversations and Restored as a New iPhone. Previously I had major sound issues.
     
  17. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #17
    Install and run Navizon just once then remove it if you like. Locate me in maps will now work.
     
  18. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    It was a normal restore.
     
  19. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #19
    Well what happened to me the first time I installed ZiPhone, 1.0, it supposedly already had Summerboard and other ish installed, and when i tried to uninstall, I got Main Execution Script Error. So what I did was put my phone into recovery mode, iTunes with plug, restored, used backup, used ZiPhone, then sync'd songs and videos etc, worked like a charm...
     
  20. hard-case macrumors regular

    hard-case

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #20
    Are you using the absolute latest version of ZiPhone? I had the same problem happen to me, and it was only with the latest version of ZiPhone that the jailbreak worked fine. Used the GUI version, selected only jailbreak, and it took about a minute and a half. No problems.
     
  21. PatrickC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #21
    That's why all of the old files were there. Doing a restore and clicking the "Set up as New Phone" option will not transfer back all of those preferences. Glad to hear its working now though.
     
  22. HOiYA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #22
    I was able to use ZiPhone to jb and activate my 1.1.3 iPhone all right. But I am seeing that the app Categories doesn't show up after installing it. Anyone else experiencing this as well? Any solutions?
     
  23. Aries326 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #23
    Maps work with a jailbroken phone but it does not work if you then unlock.
     
  24. laurnzo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #24

    maps works for me, what i did was use the unlock from ziphone, it says 4.6bl only for some reason but mine was 3.9bl yet it work fine and locate feature works great, expect my mail ha
     
  25. toddbe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #25
    ziphone - addresses from contacts into maps not working

    Everything is working great, except I cannot import my contact's addresses into the maps application, or add bookmarks to the map aplication. Locate me works, and I can get turn by turn if I manually enter the address. Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Todd
     

Share This Page