Possible bug that hasn't been fixed with 10.8.1

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dominicdiep, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. dominicdiep macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #1
    Since upgrading to Mountain Lion on the Macbook Air, everytime I wake it up from sleep it will come up with the message that application memory is full even though with terminal open it's clear that I have plenty over RAM available. It's annoying since I usually only have Chrome with a few tabs open. Thus, I have to force quit it and then open it again, and then there are no problems. Why does it keep saying to me that I have no ram when usually I have over 4gigs available? :confused:
     
  2. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Bronx,Ny
    #2
    I think you answered your own question maybe chrome has a memory leak ? Try leaving some taps open on safari and then waking it from sleep
     
  3. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #3
    There were many bugs that 10.8.1 hasn't fixed. It will be fixed soon, just not at the same time.
     
  4. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #4
    By 10.8.3 or 10.8.4 is usually how long it takes to get most of the bugs out. That's why I always wait. I've never seen a reason to rush, especially when I've already got a stable system.
     
  5. dcorban macrumors 6502a

    dcorban

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
  6. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #6
    Have you opened activity monitor too see what's eating all the ram?
     
  7. wolfpuppies3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #7
    Not Chrome, not ML issue

    I have a 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD 2012 13" MBA and use Chrome all the time, often with 6-7 tabs going at once. I do not have this problem.
     
  8. dominicdiep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #8
    No I don't have adblock for Chrome. As I've said before, I've had terminal open as soon as I wake up and log in, and even though it says I have to quit applications, it is clear I have plenty of RAM available. Wtf...
     
  9. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #9
    so leave activity monitor open and see how much ram is being used.

    can you post a screenshot of the message?
     

Share This Page