Possible? Build a Pc Inside A Mac Case.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Mattydj, May 10, 2007.

  1. Mattydj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I'm a gamer so i need to have a computer running windows able to cope with todays games. My macbook sadly is unable to do that so i need a PC.

    I love the designs of Apples computer towers so was just wondering if it was possible to take maybe a Powermac G4 computer take all the components out so it's just the case and build a windows box inside it?

    I would love to be able to do this so i could keep a bit of Apple even though i'm running Windoze...

    Any ideas or suggestions are welcome.
     
  2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
    Yeeeeees. Been done many times before, do a quick forum search. Also check macmod.com or xlr8yourmac.com.

    Muah ha ha ha ha! NOW GIVE ME YOUR BRAIN.
     
  3. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #3
    Sure, you could probably get a G5/Pro case on ebay for around 70 - 90 bucks. I'm sure it would work out fine.
     
  4. Mattydj thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
  5. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #5
    Why spend hard-earned bucks on a real Mac Pro case when you can have this exact replica for dirt cheap!?!?!

    [​IMG]

    Ok... technically, it's not "exact"... But it's so-oo cheap that it's tempting to buy simply to have something that takes "tacky rip-off" to the Nth degree! (Having a floppy slot is a real +++) :p
     
  6. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    Anything can be done with enough time, money and effort ;)
     
  7. Mattydj thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7

    I did infact see that case while searching but i'm hoping to either use a mac case of find an "EXACT" replica to build a pc in.
     
  8. amd4me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #8
    You can do it but you will need a SFF mobo and a bunch of other ****. You are better off with another case.
     
  9. nickster9224 macrumors 6502a

    nickster9224

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    35 Miles From Chicago, Illinois
  10. TequilaBoobs macrumors 6502a

    TequilaBoobs

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #11
    thats like putting a kia engine in a ferrari body. sure it will look good, but in all actuality, you're what the french would call a "poseur".
     
  11. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #12
    Well, technically he won't be a "poseur" since he already has a macbook and a mac... I see it more of "I want my **** to match" mentality.
     

Share This Page