Possible iOS 5 Battery Drain Fix ...worked for me!!

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by No More Windows, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. No More Windows macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I apologise in advance if somebody has already posted this fix, but unlike a lot of you guys, I just don't have the time in my day to trawl (Not troll!!) through countless forum posts, but I did do a lot of research on this battery drain issue in iOS 5 in an attempt to solve it. I'm running a 16 Gb iPhone 4 and iOS 5 (Obviously) and like many of you guys I saw my battery life decrease dramatically with light to normal use. With iOS 4.3 I would easily get two days of normal use before charging and after upgrading to iOS 5, I was lucky to get 4-6 hours tops!! :eek:

    Now I can't even remember where I read this tip, but it said to go to...

    Settings > General > Network > Enable 3G

    ... and toggle that switch off and then back on, then do a hard reset. ie. Hold down the Wake and Home buttons until the phone shuts down and you see the Apple logo then release both buttons.

    I'm now back to my full pre-iOS 5 battery life of two days, but admittedly, I am only a light to normal user. I previously tried all the tips I could fine out there, including a clean install and restore from recent backup, all without success and this is the only thing that has worked for me so far!!

    It may not work for everybody, but give it a go and post your results, after all you've got nothing to lose, and I'd love to know if it solves the issue for anyone else!!

    Cheers

    Todd
    Un-ashamed :apple: Fanboy
     
  2. NJFP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #2
    I don't have "enable 3G" option on my Verizon iP4.
     
  3. No More Windows thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #3
    Damn, I guess I should have disclosed that I'm in Sydney Australia and I think all we have here is 3G. Hope you guys find a fix soon, though I fear it may only come through Apple's pending iOS 5 update. :confused:
     
  4. rwwest7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #4
    All iPhones are 3G. Settings...General...Network is where the Enable 3G button is, even on iPhone 4s.

    The 4 in iPhone 4 does not stand for 4G.
     
  5. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Right. It should have a 3G switch/ turn off celluar data.
     
  6. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #6
    I could be wrong but from reading threads in this forum, I believe that at least with the 4S Apple removed the ability to toggle 3G on/off.
     
  7. No More Windows thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #7
    Sorry, I can't comment on that, I only have the original iPhone 4 not the 4S. All I know is after I did it my battery life returned to normal. Has anybody been able to replicate this... just wondering??
     
  8. No More Windows thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #8
    It can be confusing with all the names of the various generations of the iPhone... even funnier that all the pundits were getting their knickers in a twist because iPhone 4S was not called the iPhone 5...

    For the record the Australian versions of the iPhone are as follows...

    iPhone - 1G = 1st Generation - Edge
    iPhone 3G - 2G = 2nd Generation - 3G
    iPhone 3GS - 3G = 3rd Generation - 3G
    iPhone 4 - 4G = 4th Generation - 3G
    iPhone 4S - 5G = 5th Generation - 3G
    iPhone 6?? - 6G - 6th Generation - 4G/LTE?? (Maybe they'll call this one "iPhone Re-Loaded" :p)
     
  9. Moe UK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #9
    iPhone 4s does not have a toggle button to turn of 3G.
     
  10. TheSuperSteve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #10
    Or maybe "iPhone Extreme!". Yes, with the exclamation mark at the end! :p

    Achieve extremeeeee speeds! Extreme! To the max!

    To be on topic, i dont have that enable 3G on my Sprint iPhone 4S. :confused:
     
  11. Harmush macrumors 6502a

    Harmush

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #11
    Correct, only "mobile data".

    Just wait for the software fix guys, all this hard resetting rubbish. Its a software probelm and no amount of hard resets will fix a software problem.
     
  12. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Lol great fix. There is no toggle anymore
     
  13. No More Windows thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #13

    It's a great fix if you've still got the toggle switch!! I've still got one... and no more battery drain!! See attached screen shots.

    I'm running iOS 5 (Obviously) and I'm still at 82% tonight at 9.03pm having pulled the phone off the charger at 6.30am this morning. Admittedly I've only made one short call today and checked mail a few times, and only browsed for a few minutes. Pretty light use even for me today, but before this fix my battery would have been totally dead in 4 to 6 hours!! It's worth noting that I also have every iCloud service switched on as well so I can only assume that what I did fixed the problem.

    Could it be something to do with the Verizon CDMA network vs the AT&T's network for you guys without the toggle switch?? We've only got the one standard (I think it's the same standard as AT&T's) here in Australia, so I'm not sure why some of you guys have it and some don't.

    At the risk of upsetting some people I'll re-phrase my "Fix" and say that If you still have the "Enable 3G" toggle switch, slide it to off and then back on again and do a hard reset and see if that works for you. I can confirm that it certainly worked for my phone, my wife's phone and three of the guys at my work who were all having the same battery drain issues.

    You may scoff but you do it at your own peril... unless you don't have the switch that is!! :p
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #14
    On a iPod touch should I turn wifi on off then hard reset?
     
  15. No More Windows thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #15
    Sorry Thetonyk123, I have no idea about a fix for the iPod Touch... I got the battery issues with my 16Gb iPhone 4 and my wife's identical iPhone 4. We also both have an 8Gb 4th Generation iPod Touch and we have a 64Gb WiFi only iPad 2 as well and it was only the phones that we got the drained battery issue with. We are early adopters, sometimes at our own peril because we did, somewhat prematurely, upgrade to iOS 5 on the day it was released, on ALL our iDevices. Probably worth a bit longer wait at the next major update!!
     
  16. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #17
    This Works For Me

    Here in the UK, but I don't have to hard re-set....What seems to happen is that 3G gets enabled, even when I'm on a wifi network.

    I have posted in the UK battery forum about the detail, but basically, if you keep tabs on it and ensure it remains off until you need it, it does seem to help.

    Blurtooth is another offender, and comes enabled by default with the 4S....I'm told that 5.01 will address this issue, but for now I'm charging the second full cycle and am guesstimating between 15 and 20% less battery life than my 4.
     
  17. kicko macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #18
    I cannot speak about a fix but ... depending on what network type you have GSM (yes) or CDMA (no) you can or cannot toggle 3g.
     
  18. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #19
    AT&T versions inexplicably do not allow toggling 3G any longer despite being GSM.
     
  19. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #20
    I'm on ATT and I can toggle the "3G" as well. Will update to see if this helps me.
     
  20. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    Where do you have that setting? (ie, which screen?)

    Thanks
     
  21. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #22
    Which iPhone model are you using? I, too, can toggle 3G on/off however I'm on a 3GS; it was my understanding that the removal of the 3G toggle was only on the 4S from what I've been reading in these forums.

    Mine's under Settings>General>Network.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    Interesting. My 3GS running iOS5 has that option as well... I knew I left it hanging around in a random drawer for some reason.

    Same screen on my 4S doesn't have that option though obviously the phone will back down to edge when it has to...
     
  23. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #24
    Only an option for AT&T....I don't think its available for anyone on the 4s.
     
  24. ac921ol, Nov 7, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011

    ac921ol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #25
    Will be trying this in a few minutes and will report back and see how it goes.

    I turned off 3g (waited until edge showed up)
    Turned 3g back on (waited until 3g showed up)
    Did hard reset

    update tomorrow evening on my findings.
     

Share This Page