Possible new iPhone user

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pdawg, Feb 14, 2011.

1. pdawg macrumors regular

Newbie here. I have 4 lines with AT+T: 2 not under contract and 2 still under contract although one is about to expire. I really don't need all these lines anymore, so I'm canceling 2 of them, preferably this week. I may keep the one line extra to stay on Family Talk (700 min).

What is the best approach to get the best deal on an iPhone 4? Should I purchase it directly from the store and then go to AT+T and try to continue without a contract? Will I get any discounts in terms of hardware/data plan if I go to AT+T directly and tell them I'm going to Verizon instead? I'm not a big fan of playing one against the other so I need some tips :D

I've never had an iPhone before, just an old "phone only" Nokia.

2. JamesMB macrumors 68000

JamesMB

It doesn't make any difference whether you buy from Apple or AT&T, the price will be the same. If you sign a new contract, you get the upgrade price. If you don't sign a new contract, you have to pay full price.

3. pdawg thread starter macrumors regular

What % off should the upgrade price be? I thought someone at AT+T told me I'd pay full price for the phone regardless. Maybe that was when the iPhone first came out.

4. Rajani Isa, Feb 14, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011

Rajani Isa macrumors 65816

Rajani Isa

Yeah, back when the original 2G iPhone came out, it was unsubsidized.

So you'll pay (now) $49/$199/$299 for the 3GS 8GB/4 16GB/4 32GB respectively (I went 4 32GB because I was running my old 3G at near capacity at 16GB :) )

Now days I'd where do you think you'll have the better experience (if you've a choice)?