Possible that a core dies?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mknabster, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. mknabster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #1
    Is there any possibility that a core could die within a laptop? I have the 2008 MacBook Pro with the Core 2 Duo, and i have noticed that as of late, when i do video production and handbrake encodings, it takes 2x as long as what it used to months ago. Like a handbrake encode went from taking an hour to two and half, or a premiere pro encode takes 6 hours for a 1080p 30minute video. Now i did downgrade from Lion to Snow LEopard since i was having GPU issues, which i think has extended into SL now since Starcraft 3 doesn't play at High like it used to, now it can't go past Medium. So, any idea what could have caused this slowdown?
     
  2. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

    ericrwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #2
    That's a good question.

    There are a lot of programs that monitor CPU usage and will break it down to what each core is doing. Might be a good start to see what's going on.
     
  3. TheMacBookPro, Jul 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012

    TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #3
    Go into Activity Monitor, select the CPU tab then double click on the box under CPU Usage. It'll list out all of the cores (including hyperthreaded cores depending on CPU support) and show you if each core is doing anything.
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    It is probably more likely that you're having a heat issue and the CPU isn't running at full speed.
     
  5. mknabster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #5
    Ok, i'll check that once i get home from work today. I didn't think about checking Activity monitor.

    Yes TSBrick my MAc will get considerably hot, but i do have it on a stand which keeps it elevated, but i generally can't touch it since it's so hot. But it has always been like that, after getting 3 GPU replacements over the years, you would think that would have been fixed.
     

Share This Page