Possible to check voltage Ram is running at?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Iphone4sinwhite, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. Iphone4sinwhite macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #1
    Is it possible to determine what voltage your ram is running at in OSx 10.8.x? If so, does anyone have a screenshot of a 2011 (Sandy Bridge) cMBP with RAM running at 1.35 volts? I'm going upgrade to 16gb and would like to use DDR3L (lower power draw, lower heat creation, and longer longevity) but don't know if a 2011 cMBP can utilize the 1.35v RAM or if it'll just run it at 1.5volts?
     
  2. Ledgem macrumors 65816

    Ledgem

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hawaii, USA
    #2
    I've read over a number of posts on the forums where people tried using the 1.35 volt RAM in 2011 systems. In some cases the RAM didn't work at all; in other cases people determined that it was running at 1.5 volts regardless (I don't remember how this was determined).

    If anyone knows differently then I'd be happy to be corrected. Otherwise, I'd advise not to risk it.
     
  3. Iphone4sinwhite thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
  4. Iphone4sinwhite thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
  5. Iphone4sinwhite thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #5
    Is there any way to determine what voltage your ram is running at?
     
  6. Iphone4sinwhite thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #6
    Are there any apps or programs that allow you to check what voltage your RAM is running at?
     
  7. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Yeah ask 4 more times and I might answer.

    Just read the voltage on the damn RAM.
     

Share This Page