Possible to connect a mini-DP cinema display to HDMI video card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cameronjpu, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. cameronjpu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    #1
    I updated the video card in a Mac pro and the new card has only DVI and HDMI. The existing Cinema display has only thunderbolt/mini-DP. Is it possible to connect the two? I'm beginning to suspect the two are not electrically compatible, so I'll need a more expensive hardware solution than just a cable adapter. But perhaps something like this? https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812200691 plus https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...displayport_female-_-1B4-0087-00131-_-Product

    That will take the Cinema display input miniDP male --> (miniDP female--DVI male) --> DVI female GPU output.

    Is that correct? Do I need to worry about this being possible despite the connections physically being there? Any other suggestion? Thanks!
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You would need something like this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003LGOWNQ Note that if your LED Cinema display takes and HDMI->mini DisplayPort as input, it will be limited to 720p. This cannot be changed.
     
  3. cameronjpu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    #3
    I'm not following your second to last sentence - if the cinema display takes AND HDMI->mDP... what does that mean? I assume you meant to say 'an' but it still doesn't parse.

    Are you saying that no matter what solution I use, I won't get more than 720p resolution? Or that with THIS specific solution you linked, it is limited to that? Also, what you linked doesn't seem to be the right solution, as it says "Converts HDMI input to DisplayPort format". What i'm trying to do is the opposite - convert HDMI OUTPUT to DP format. Do you think that's just a typo maybe? Sure would be nice if a product like that would include images of all sides of the device to actually see what i'm getting.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    My wording is correct and that is the correct adapter. If you send an HDMI signal, with proper active adapter, to an LED Cinema Display, it'll only accept 720p as a resolution. That adapter takes the HDMI output of a computer/PlayStation/Xbox/Blu-ray player and turns it into a mini-DisplayPort signal.
     
  5. tracer1 macrumors member

    tracer1

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    SC
    #5
    Just out of curiosity, how can you tell what the resolution is of the display? Is this only with a HDMI adapter that reduces it to 720?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    The display tells the source what it can display in that format via ECID. I have that adapter and with it, the display will only take a 720p source. Unless you've connected it with something that uses the full DisplayPort protocol, which HDMI does not.
     
  7. cameronjpu thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    #7
    Ugh. So, since changing the GPU is not an option, basically my only option is to replace the screen. Any disagreement there? Can't run a 27" display at 720p :(
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  9. tracer1 macrumors member

    tracer1

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    SC
    #9
    I thought the ACD could run 1280x720. Glad I looked at the thread, I know now not to get a card without a display port, well, as long as I have this monitor. Thanks cameron & intell.
     
  10. KevinLG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #10
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    That adapter will not work. DisplayPort requires an active adapter. DisplayPort to HDMI or DVI will work with a passive adapter.
     
  12. svlad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #12
    Your wording is incorrect, or you otherwise intended on writing nonsense. Here is what you wrote:

    Reread that very carefully. The and in the middle should probably be "an", otherwise the sentence makes no sense.
     
  13. tu2thepoo, Aug 16, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018

    tu2thepoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    #13
    Tripp Lite HDMI to DisplayPort Active Converter w/ USB Power 4Kx2K @ 30Hz HDMI to DP M/F 6in 6" (P130-06N-DP-V2) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074DBS84T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_YvADBbA1GRBSX

    That adapter claims to go up to 4K, so it may be what you’re looking for. Just combine that with a DisplayPort to Mini DisplayPort adapter.

    There’s a bunch more if you search “hdmi to displayport active adapter” on amazon. I’ve only gone the other direction (DP to HDMI) so I can’t offer any direct experience. But it may be worth trying before you replace the monitor.
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    I'm human after all. Even with the typo, the conveyance of the thought comes through to native English speakers or those not actively looking for mistakes in web forum posts.
     
  15. HAx2S macrumors newbie

    HAx2S

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    #16
    2019 SOLUTION

    COMPUTER

    Mac Pro (Early 2009)
    2 x 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
    64 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Jason's M.2 512GB (PCI Adapter)
    Radeon Vega Frontier Edition 16 GB (running macOS Mojave 10.14.4 natively with boot screen)
    16TB RAID 0 Storage
    3TB Archive
    1TB Samsung SSD T5 Scratch Disk via USB-C (PCI Adapter)

    DISPLAY
    Apple Cinema Display (A1316)

    27-inch (2560 x 1440)

    I used this adapter and extension cable to get it working!

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003N3DTKY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01KRLQG2M/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


    As far as the Apple Thunderbolt Display, I don’t own one to test. As far as the reading I’ve done, it won’t work because its Thunderbolt, as opposed to on the Cinema Display, Mini DisplayPort. It’s worth trying when the adapter is that cheap!
     

    Attached Files:

  16. W1SS macrumors 6502

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #17
    How did you manage to get boot screen support on the Vega FE?
     
  17. HAx2S macrumors newbie

    HAx2S

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    #18
    I’m sorry, but I’m ignorant in this area, but it’s the stock grey screen of the Apple with a loading bar. I bought it on eBay as is; couldn’t tell you what to do.
     
  18. IndioX macrumors regular

    IndioX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    austria/europe
    #19
    this is NOT an bootscreen

    there will be no bootscreen with polaris or vega cards in a cMP
     

Share This Page

18 January 5, 2018