Possible to downgrade 3.1 to 3.0?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by champnt, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. champnt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #1
    Is it possible to downgrade firmware 3.1 to 3.0? My MMS stopped working during this upgrade. Any input would be great. Thanks
     
  2. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #2
    Did you happen to check your carrier settings? That should be the only think that would stop it from working.
     
  3. champnt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #3
    Yeah I tried carrier ipcc for both 4.2 and 5.0 still wont work. Just ever since I upgraded to 3.1 just loss complete access. Any help on downgrading would be great.
     
  4. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #4
    Sorry can't help on the downgrade but just because you installed the ipcc doesn't mean they had the correct carrier setting in them..
     
  5. paul100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #5
    Yeah it is possible to downgrade it. In that case you can just go to your WoW folder and take out the patch.
     
  6. inf macrumors 6502

    inf

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #6
    This is said on the iPhone Dev Central

     
  7. iLoveiPhone3GS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #7
    Lemme guess, torrented the dev build of 3.1 and you cant use it? hahahaha
     
  8. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
  9. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #9
    I think this release is for developers only. Not for Joe Public to smeg all over their phone!
     
  10. champnt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #10
    Firmware 3.1 works, just can't get my mms to work. I am on a developers account.
     
  11. cualexander macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    MMS is not supported if you are on AT&T yet. just wait. I don't get why everyone wants to try to hack tethering and MMS. It's not like AT&T can't see that sort of thing. Why risk it?
     
  12. timetravel0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #12
    how do i downgrade?
     
  13. Gathomblipoob macrumors 68040

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #13
    You can downgrade to 3.0, but you're stuck with the 3.1 baseband.
     
  14. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #14
    Mwahahaha
     
  15. timetravel0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
  16. champnt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #16
    How do I downgrade?
     
  17. daleski75 macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #17
    1. Put the phone in DFU mode
    2. Restore 3.0 firmware
    3. Get error 1500 when finished
    5. Hold BOTH the Power and the Home button for 15 seconds
    6. Let go of both buttons
    7. Press and hold the power button again for 2 seconds

    This may need a few attempts (5-7) but then it should work.

    BUT you will need to do steps 5-7 even if you restore the same firmware again.
     
  18. champnt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #18
    Thanks for your reply.
    1) I put it in DFU mode.
    2) When I tried to restore 3.0 it said "The iPhone could not be restored because the firmware file is not compatible."
     
  19. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #19
    You didn't put a beta release on your main phones did you? That would just be a horrible idea IMO.

    Seems like I would see about having a phone to test with.
     
  20. daleski75 macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #20
    Did you download 3.0 firmware manually or from itunes?

    firmware 2,1 is 3GS
    firmware 1,2 is 3G

    AFAIK
     
  21. champnt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #21


    Thanks for your reply. I successfully downgraded. Thank you everbody.
     
  22. iUnlockBoise macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #22
    Hey, can you guys clarify how you downgraded? I have a 2G that accidentally got upgraded to FW 3.1. I've put it into DFU mode and I get the same message ---"he iPhone could not be restored because the firmware file is not compatible."
     
  23. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #23
    I hate when my butler upgrades my devices without asking.
     
  24. lelegitl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #24
    I don't get error 1500, I get 1015 or something like that, I know that's like baseband error or something. But I held both home and power button 15 seconds, then let go and held on till it turned out, but it's in restore mode or something, it doesn't seem to work. Am I missing a step, should I unplug the device from the itunes after it restores with an error. Am I suppose to restore straight out of apple and not hold down "ALT"? Thanks
     
  25. alansaysstop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Roseville
    #25
    how do you accidently upgrade your phone to a firmware thats not released to the general public?:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page