Resolved Possible to fake another desktop?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by auhagen, Jun 12, 2016.

Tags:
  1. auhagen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    Hi guys/gals.

    I have been using my mac mini as my server for some years now, and there's this thing thats been annoying me.

    My mini serves at itunes server, plex server, plex, and other stuff.

    My problem is that when it's running plex, there is no other way than ssh into using the server. So I cannot install new stuff, make background tasks, or work on it, without tabbing in and out of plex.

    Is there a way, where I can set osx up to fake another desktop, so osx shows plex on the hdmi port, and osx desktop on "the main screen"?. That way, I would still be able to remote display into the machine and see the desktop, and use it, without interrupting the plex experience.

    I've been googling a bit, but since english ain't my native language, I'm having a bit trouble finding a working solution.
     
  2. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    As far as I recall it should be simple:
    1. have more than one user
    2. enable screen sharing (or remote management).
    At the Mac: log in as the user who will run Plex

    Remotely: log in as a different user.
     
  3. auhagen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    I never thought of that. It's working to a certain point.

    It's working that way that I'm able to login and use the file system, but I'm not able to tweak the running applications on the other desktop. So If this is gonna be the solution, I need osx to login both users so the apps is running on the admin login, and then I'll make a plex user, only running plex.

    Any sugestions for that?
     
  4. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    I don't use Plex, someone else might have suggestions.
     
  5. auhagen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    I found a fix, yay!

    Ended up doing a login apple script, that launches when the server user is logging in.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 12, 2016 ---
    Now I only need to fix one minor problem.

    Using the apple remote, pressing the "menu" button, makes a reaction on both users.
     

Share This Page