Possible To Hook XBOX360 to iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Friedrich, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. Friedrich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #1
    I just purchased a refurbed aluminum 24" iMac and was wondering if it'd be at all possible to hook my Xbox 360 up to it so I can play my games through the monitor?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    i think it's possible if you buy an eyetv hybrid. it costs though.
     
  3. Friedrich thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #3
    I don't think that has anything to do with playing video games.
     
  4. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    yeah but it can input the xbox (or any other video source) to the imac screen like you do tv. thats the closest thing you have to using the imac as a tv.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    But you need that for attaching cables, otherwise you can't
     
  6. Friedrich thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #6
    The price doesn't bother me. But after looking around, it seems there is some significant lag (couple seconds). So I might just not bother...
     
  7. ritzuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    #7
    Don't bother - my Wii looked awful through EyeTV and it's only in SD - imagine what it would do to those lovely hi-res visuals! Also, the 'virtually lag free' operation is crap - it's really noticeable.

    I'd just buy a second 20" monitor and put it through that.
     
  8. Friedrich thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #8
    I actually have a fairly decent, non-HDTV I play on.

    I was just curious if I'd be able to play through my new computer is all :)
     
  9. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Basically, no. I've tried several solutions to achieve this, and none have worked without lag, or being in HD.
     

Share This Page