Possible to install RAM on a standing iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Swift Sketcher, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. Swift Sketcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #1
    Is the only way to install RAM in the imac by laying it flat? Or will I be okay if I leave it standing, tilting the screen and install it that way?

    I don't have adequate room or soft material to lay the imac flat in my workspace at school. Just wondering if there are any risks involved if I do not lay it flat.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    I've done it on Intell aluminum iMacs before just by tilting the screen. Just make sure your have a short screwdriver, angle the screwdriver correctly so you don't strip the screw, and unplug the iMac.
     
  3. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #3
    I've done it also. Bring it to the edge of the desk, then get on the floor.
     
  4. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #4
    I upgraded mine that way, no need to lay the iMac down
     
  5. sofasurfer macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #5
    Did it by tilting and getting on the floor...no problems at all.
     
  6. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #6
    +1 Same Here

    A word of warning though....It takes a fair bit of pressure to seat the new modules correctly, a lot more than you'd think.

    I did mine as posted above, just tilted back, unscrewed the cover plate, popped them in, hey presto.
     

Share This Page