possible to move HD from one mac to another?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bm5, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. bm5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #1
    doesn't seem like it will work, but figured I would ask. I have a new MBP (late 2008 model). It's great, but a bit big and heavy for travel. I'm thinking about getting the smaller macbook for travel. Would it be possible to pop the HD out of the MBP and put it into the MB? That way I could have access to the same apps & data.

    Anyone know if this will work?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    There's nothing stopping you from doing it but I'd wait for 10.5.6 first just to be sure.
     
  3. hierobryan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    earth/jupiter
    #3
    Why would that make a difference?
     
  4. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    yeah oi don't see hoe that 'd make a difference..if you just want to get to your stuff why don't you just get a cheap enclosure and when you get your MB take the HD out and clone the MBP HD on it....?
     
  5. ddeadserious macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
  6. bm5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #6
    thanks for the feedback, I'll give it a go. i don't want to just "clone" the drive because essentially I'll be switching back and forth between the MBP and the MB depending on circumstance. So if I can just move the drive back and forth I'll always have "my" environmnet (apps + data)
     

Share This Page