Possible to OTA update from Public Beta to Dev Beta 3?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Bane-Thunder, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. Bane-Thunder macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    #1
    Anyone know if this is possible and any links to help with this?
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    I don't think it is really necessary, unless DP is released one day or two earlier than PB.
    But if you really want to do, first make sure your current beta is not the latest one, then get Developer Beta profile and install it. This should be able to make sure you are able to update to developer beta and your device is in developer beta channel.
     
  3. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    I would assume you just need to have a developer profile installed on the phone and check for an update.
     
  4. egeek84 macrumors 6502

    egeek84

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    im gonna do this too, i dont get why they make us wait 2-3 days, i really need that AR mode on pokemon go
     
  5. Pspressart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #5
    Remove the public profile and restart the device before installing the developer profile. If you try to install it with the public installed, it won't work.
     
  6. GIZBUG macrumors 65816

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    No.
     
  7. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    They make us wait incase there is a major bug in the software. That way they have 2 days to fix it before the public beta testers get it.
     
  8. RadioGaGa1984 Suspended

    RadioGaGa1984

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    #8
    Don't post answers to questions you know nothing about.
    If done like pspressart says it will work.
     
  9. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #9
    It used to be that once you had installed the Public Beta you could switch to the Dev track by removing the Beta profile. Now that Apple has implemented a profile for Devs as well this is no longer an option. You will need a Dev Profile and for that you really ought to be a dev. I counsel patience, Public Beta 2 should be out this week.
     
  10. RadioGaGa1984 Suspended

    RadioGaGa1984

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    #10
    It most certainly is still an option. I just did it on Monday had the public beta profile deleted it restarted. Installed dev profile restarted and software update showed beta 3. Upgrading from PB 1 to Dev 3
     
  11. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #11
    Please read what I said, you now need the dev profile. Before you didn't need any profile.
     
  12. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #12
    Not entirely true. Developers have to pay $99 a year. They get 1-2 builds on major releases before public beta and then typically 1-2 days sooner thereafter. They pay money and because of that get a very small privilege included in the developer fee. It's more that, than it is playing it safe for the PB.
     
  13. lonman06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #13
    This does work. I didn't even uninstall public beta profile. Just went right to developer beta 3 after I installed the developer profile.
     
  14. gwhizkids macrumors 68020

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #14
    He's right in one respect: we cannot post links here of where to find the developer profile.
     
  15. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #15
    But aren't they paying $99 to make money? I figured that's why they pay a fee. I can download Xcode and build apps without paying anything. They pay so they can sell their apps.
     
  16. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #16
    Yes, but like I said. A perk one gets with that and being a registered developer is they get the betas sooner. Because well, they're developers and they're the ones actually doing work for their apps in it to get them ready.
     
  17. GIZBUG macrumors 65816

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    Most people who use PUBLIC BETA do not have apple developer accounts. If they did, there would be NO reason to use a public beta. So assuming he isn't a developer, and has no legal access to a DP profile, the answer would be no. Know more about it than what you think, chief. Carry on.
     

Share This Page