Possible to put GPU on water in 5,1 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Redneck1089, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone know if it is possible to put a GPU, specifically the GTX 780 Ti Classified, on water in the Mac Pro?
     
  2. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #2
    Sure it's possible, but it's not gonna be fun to do.
     
  3. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #3
    What challenges would I be facing?
     
  4. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #4
    You'd have to have external power, for sure. Also, fitting the water cooler in the case would be a problem. There is that new ASUS 780Ti with the water cooling tube fittings built in. If you cut a couple holes in the case you could run it outside to your cooler.

    You would be a bad ass though. :cool:
     
  5. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    You can get PCIe expansion bay covers with ports in them for tubing so that gives you access to the outside of the case. Quick disconnects will deal with moving the case.

    You can get external radiators of considerable size (see Phobya) but you would only need 120.2 (or 120.3 for preference) so a micro case with small PSU, pump (such as D5 vario) and a small tube reservoir and space for a couple of radiators is all you need.
     
  6. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #6
    Well I already have the eVGA GTX Ti Classified...so no Asus for me. I already have an external PSU powering the card which should also be powerful enough to handle the extra load of powering something else.

    It's just a matter of whether I want to go through with it and how much I'd really gain from it.

    I have already updated the BIOS of the card and used the EVbot to up its voltage...but I run into a dead end pretty quickly because any significant over clock hits the max temperature limit pretty quickly.

    For awhile I had it +140 Mhz at 1.31825 volts. Assassin's Creed Black Flag and Metro 2033 Last Light handled it fine, except for hitting 90 degree C pretty quickly. I've ended up lowering the voltage to 1.22025 volts and a modest +50 Mhz over clock, and this keeps me below any extreme temperatures.

    ----------

    Thanks for the information. I will look into it.
     

Share This Page