Possible to sync only _new_ photos with iphoto?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by betsyroper, Jan 6, 2010.

1. betsyroper macrumors newbie

Hi,

Newbie here - sorry of this has been covered elsewhere. i searched, but couldn't find anything. My problem is that every time I sync with my computer iphoto wants to import all the photos on my iphone. then i have to tell it to ignore duplicates - every time. highly annoying. anyway to disable iphoto sync, or specify that only new photos be imported?

thanks in advance,
    betsy

2. Small White Car macrumors G4

Small White Car

In iTunes (when the phone is plugged in) you select the "photo" tab.

You choose which iPhoto albums you want the phone to sync with. You can pick a few manual albums that you arrange by hand if you like.

I suggest making a smart album in iPhoto and program it to only show photos taken in the last 3 weeks. Then sync that to the phone in iTunes. That's a good way to keep recent stuff without having to think about it.

3. bstpierre macrumors 6502

I think the situation that the OP is talking about is when she connects her iPhone to her Mac it thinks she has just attached a camera so iPhoto openes up and offers to download all of her pictures.

If I am correct with that read of her question than there are possibilities.

With the iPhone connected you can open the application called ImageCapture and there is a menu selection to specify what occurs when the device is connected. I think you can select "ignore". It has been a while since I have done this and I think it works properly these days. In the past the selection wouldn't stick so you had to instead tell it to run a specific application and there was an applescript application available that would quickly load, do nothing and move on (avoiding the lengthy iPhoto loading).