possible to unlock 3.1 on a 3G?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by vivithemage, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. vivithemage macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    Buddy just updated to 3.1 from itunes ... noob.

    Now he needs me to fix it for him, but with the baseband update in 3.1, I told him it's not possible yet. Is this true?

    He needs it unlocked, to work on t-mobile.
     
  2. HighLife420 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #2
    correct, you cannot unlock it atm if you upgraded to 3.1 and the baseband upgrades.

    I duno if this will change or not...but it cannot be done right now for sure.
     
  3. California King macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #3
    He'll just have to wait until someone figures out a way to unlock it with the new baseband. Who knows how long that will take...might even be impossible :eek:
     
  4. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #4

    uhoh!
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    Indeed, the Dev-Team does not offer much hope for a 5.11.07 baseband unlock. According to members, Apple's removed pretty much anything not absolutely essential from the baseband and patched every known exploit. There's not much left to work with.
     

Share This Page