Possible to upgrade Baseband with Pwnage Tool?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by DannyBres, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I dont wanna upgrade to 2.2.1 because im happy with my phone ATM and it will be a lot of hassle doing it all again.

    Is it possible to build a 2.2.1 IPSW in the Pwnage Tool that will upgrade the baseband? I can see the option but it is blanked out.

    If i restores to a original IPSW to get the baseband update then ran qucikpwn would i need to put it in DFU mode?
     
  2. jdrm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #2
    Pwnage tool by default creates a custom firmware without the baseband update in order to preserve Yellowsn0w compatibility but..

    As you are from UK...if O2 is your prefered carrier...and you really think that youll be happy with O2 for a long time...you´re safe to update directly from itunes and your baseband will be updated, then you can quickpwn as usually ( yes you´ll need to put your iphone on DFU mode ) ...However if you´re not on O2...you should not update de baseband.
     
  3. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #3
    Update normally then Quickpwn will do it.

    However if you really want to use pwnage, I wouldn't worry too much about missing the Baseband update... It will actually give your phone a higher re-sale value should you fancy selling it in a month or so because it would be able to be unlocked.
     
  4. DannyBres thread starter macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I wont be moving from O2 or selling my phone for ages. I also would like a way to update to 2.2.1 get the baseband update and not need to change USB drivers for DFU mode
     
  5. DannyBres thread starter macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Does QuickPwn require DFU mode? and there for require me to change drivers on my Mac
     

Share This Page