Possible Trojan? CS4 Download Help

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bak3rella, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. bak3rella macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #1
    Okay so I am on my roommate's laptop because mine doesn't allow me to get on the internet. I did a search but I never found a direct answer.

    Ok, so I was trying to find a CS4 trial download (Im running Tiger and CS5 wouldn't install) and I think I probably downloaded and, yes, put in my password, and installed some trojan. The install did not fully go through so I didn't think anything of it at the time and deleted the obvious files. Now I can't get on the internet (Airport says I am connected but do not have an IP) and my spotlight stopped working: the little load icon on the left side of the search doesn't show at all and I cant press enter. I click on the desktop and then on spotlight and it says "No results found"

    What can I do to find the trojan? How can I remove it? Should I do a clean install? How can I save my documents/pictures/music/etc? Will the trojan contaminate my files? Ughh I feel so stupid.
     
  2. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    Where did you download it from? If it was from a torrent site it wouldn't be surprising to find a trojan in it. If you downloaded from Adobe, there shouldn't be any trojans in it.
     
  3. bak3rella thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #3
    It was not from Adobe, I could only find CS5 on their site so I downloaded from multiple 3rd party sites like a moron :( thinking that their installation was incomplete.
     
  4. NinjaSnowmans macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #4
    It seems that you may want to take it to the Apple Store and see if they can help you.
     
  5. bak3rella thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #5
    I really wanted to avoid this seeing as it's finals week and I NEED my computer. Is there any other remedy for this?
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    I doubt the apple store is going to help you after you've installed pirated software. You will probably need to do a complete reinstall.
     
  7. Mike225 macrumors 6502a

    Mike225

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    SF BAY
    #7
    Why arent you guys telling the guy there aren't any viruses for OS X?
     
  8. Elysian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #8
    Because we sound like a broken record.
     
  9. kernkraft macrumors 68020

    kernkraft

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #9
    Trojan horses and viruses are not the same, but I accept that I might also sound like a broken record.

    There are CS4 download links on Adobe's website somewhere, but you have to do a bit of online searching to find out, how you can activate the download links.

    From what I've heard, I don't have a doubt that you were acting legitimately.

    Clear caches, do a few apps to find trojans before you go online (during the task, use another computer and switch off the modem when you upload the app on your Mac). Do a clean install, if necessary or a Time Machine restore.
     
  10. bak3rella thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #10
    Thank you, I noticed that a lot of previous threads were arguing over the virus vs trojan thing but I am admitting to installing the software and providing my password because I believed they were legitimate.

    I downloaded iWorkServicesTrojanRemovalTool.dmg from macsecure so I hope that will help and I also have the clamav on a flash drive. I only have about 15gb of things I need to backup when I get home.

    If I were to do a clean install, is there a possibility I could harm my macbook? I am running Tiger and I do not have Time Machine available.

    ETA: Also, is that abnormal behavior with my internet connection and spotlight "normal" for the trojan? I have searched Google like crazy but I have not found many others having the same symptoms as I do.
     
  11. kernkraft macrumors 68020

    kernkraft

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #11
    Sorry, my mistake! I forgot that you were on Tiger (which is the best OS EVER!).

    If you hardly have any data, go through the obvious directories - caches, application support, library, etc.

    Good luck!
     
  12. bak3rella thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #12
    Alright, just wanted to give an update. I went out and bought an external HD, dragged-and-dropped the ~20-30 gigs of data I had on my Macbook and did a clean install of Tiger. Everything seems to be in working order and I just wanted to say thanks to everyone who tried to help! I have learned my lesson= be more wary of downloading from 3rd party sites.

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page