Possible YouTube channel & Current Computer VS New

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MilleDav01, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. MilleDav01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #1
    I am currently contemplating starting a youtube channel and have a macbook air. I will most likely be editing a video a few times per week.

    I currently have a MacBook Air 2013 with 4GB of ram 13.3" Base.

    Is it possible to encode and export on an 8GB ram macbook air OR should I look at selling my current macbook air and upgrading to the MacBook Pro W/ Retina Display?

    I will be using an external thunderbolt hard drive as storage, so I do not need a TON of hard drive space.

    Does anyone here make youtube videos? I have bought Final Cut Pro X, what else do you use?

    Any other recommendations. I do not want a desktop because I will be going to school in England at the beginning of next summer so I need something fairly portable.

    Do you think 16GB of ram is necessary/required? because I don't know if I'm willing to pay $300.00 for apple ram.

    Thanks!

    D.
     
  2. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    How long are the videos you will be rendering/uploading ?
     
  3. MilleDav01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Since you bought Final Cut Pro, why not do a test video? That will tell you if you need more power under the hood or not.
     
  5. bigeasy_uk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    Leamington Spa, England
    #5
    Of course you can encode video for youtube on your MBA, it's quite powerful. People did the same thing using pentium 4's with 512mb ram, it was just slower!

    Will your MBA do it as quickly as a rMBP? Probably not.

    I'd do what Altemose said and do a couple of test videos to see how it fairs. If you are happy with the performance then there is no need to upgrade :).

    Out of interest, where are you studying in England?
     

Share This Page