Possibly a stupid question regarding the second LAN port.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iHateMacs, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #1
    Hi for those of you well versed in networks this is probably a stupid question.


    I have a 2009 MP. I have it connected to a home network.

    I bought a 2gb Buffalo NAS to use as a mirror drive. The Buffalo has a gigabit ethernet port but my network is running at 100mb/s.

    For times when I am writing lots of data to the Buffalo I would prefer to use it it's full gigabit speed.

    I have tried connecting it to my second ethernet connector on the MP.

    The software that came with it cannot detect it. It couldn't detect it's own bum I don't think.

    So how do I find the IP address of my NAS device on this other ethernet port?

    I have searched google and have seen references to people using the Buffalo NAS in this way but not HOW to do it.

    I am obviously missing something very simple.
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    You need a server to assign IP addresses, which your home network has, but the link between your Mac Pro and your NAS wouldn't. You'd need to set such a server up on your Mac Pro for the second ethernet port. Actually, setting up internet sharing does this for you. So in the sharing panel in System preferences, just set up internet sharing from the connection to your home network to the connection to your NAS.
     
  3. iHateMacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #3
    Ah I see. Thanks.

    I will try this and see what happens.
     
  4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Doubt if you need the sharing enabled when I had my printer connected to the second port all I needed was to use a manually assigned IP that I knew would not be in use for it to work.
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    It is probably factory set for DHCP. If set for DHCP, you can temporarily connect it to your router and it will get an IP address. The Buffalo software should find it at that point and allow you to configure it to whatever IP address you'd like. Use something in the valid range for internal networks. (When directly plugged into your MP, it is an ad-hoc network and cannot use DHCP, it will need a fixed IP address.) With this method you don't need to run Internet sharing or anything like that.

    Back in the day you might also have needed a crossover cable or a switch in between the MP and Buffalo, but I believe one or even both of these devices are smart enough now to figure that out automatically.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    Yes, manually assigning an IP is another way. But turning on internet sharing is pretty straightforward, as well as giving the NAS access back to the wider network.
     
  7. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #7
    another way of doing it that is slightly more expensive would be to get a Gbps unmanaged switch.

    Hook the switch to the second port , the NAS drive , and to the 100Mbps switch/router . that way the second port and NAS drive can pick up DHCP addresses, but when it comes time to just talk to one another they just go through the 1Gbps switch at full speed.

    Later if you add another back that needs access to the NAS box you just add it to the network (Gbps if needs speed or old one if not an issue).

    Still may want to give the NAS drive a static ( either assigned in NAS adm interface or reserved DHCP address in router. )

    This costs a bit more money but not using the mac pro as a router. ( I presume it has other things to do. )
     

Share This Page