Possibly Big Problem with Pages

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JS82189, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. JS82189 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    #1
    I was typing something out for class during my free hour, and when I turned the iPad from landscape to portrait so I could use Underline (currently there is no toolbar showing up in landscape) it magically deleted half of what I had written. It wasn't TOO much stuff but it wasted like 8 minutes easily, and i was in a time crunch....

    I remember when I just loaded up the app I had shaken my iPad (i guess?) because an Undo button popped up from moving it. The iPad brushed against my chest during the procedure, and maybe clicked the Undo button??

    edit: Oh yeah, there is an Undo, but no Redo, so be careful when you press it.
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    is there anyway of locking undo feature in settings?
     
  3. pondie84 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #3
    Ideally there'd be a way to 'redo'. In the absence of that I guess people just need to be careful.
     
  4. mobilebuddha macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    Heh, just imagine the kind of response that we would see if MS had designed the pages software.

    I am sorry but when the response is "well u just gotta be more careful" to a software issue like what OP had described, I just laugh. Hopefully Apple is hearing these complaints and improving it's work/productivity suite.

     
  5. JS82189 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    #5
    Oh yeah, there is an Undo, but no Redo, so be careful when you press it.
     
  6. pondie84 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #6
    I'm not excusing it :p As I said, ideally there'd be a redo.

    However, what else is there to say 'in the meantime be careful'?

    It's more an OS problem than an app-specific problem isn't it? There's no way to 'redo' in any application as far as I'm aware.
     
  7. PrinceDraven macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Big Problem?

    So just to be sure, this BIG problem is:
    If you shake to undo and then confirm you wish to undo by hitting undo, it undoes the work you did!

    Well duh!!
     
  8. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #8
    No need to be snarky. Most if not all applications have an undo command but also have the ability to go back and redo at least the last edit. In fact many offer multiple undo's


    But I suppose you wanted to either defend apple and bash a forum user instead of contributing something of value in this thread.
     
  9. GregGebhardt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #9
    Sorry but this is a "User Induced Error"

    Life is full of little traps like this and you can blame you shoe for tripping.
     
  10. dcsatt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #10
    There is a "Redo." Hold "Undo" for a second, and a pop-up window reveals to show your choices: "Undo" and "Redo."

    Also, there's a relatively comprehensive Help page with a search function.
     
  11. PrinceDraven macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Come On!!
    Are you serious?
    Are you not fed up with people complaining constantly?
    How on Earth can you describe something that does exactly what it is supposed to as a 'Big Problem'?
    I understand if the Big Problem was WiFi not working or screen tints or something, but not the undo function doing exactly as it was designed to do!

    I have no interest in defending apple or bashing people, just wanted to chuck an element of common sense into the fray!

    At best it is a 'Suggestion for improvement', not a Big Problem!
     
  12. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #12

    Fair enough. Whether it's fixed or not - the undo pop up could at least say "warning: this cannot be undone" or whatever...

    There are a LOT of issues with Pages on the iPad as more and more people try to use it productively. I don't have a problem with people bringing these quirks to attention.
     
  13. newagemac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #13
    Actually there IS a redo button. It's on the next keyboard after the numbers one. And as someone else mentioned you can also get it by holding down Undo for a second or two.
     
  14. bluehaze013 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #14
    If the problems didn't exist people wouldn't complain and if people didn't complain the problems wouldnt get fixed. It's pretty simple really :)
     

Share This Page