Post here if you replaced the hard drive in your 13" or 15" 2010 MB Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aa521490, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. aa521490 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #1
    2010 MacBook Pros released April 13, 2010

    I hope their are no problems as I am planning to purchase one for the wife and upgrade the stock drive to a WD 750gb or 1TB hard drive.
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    The first thing I will do is replace both the optical drive with a SSD and the HDD with a bigger one.
     
  3. aa521490 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #3
    So how much space would that be?
     
  4. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    installed an intel x25-v yesterday and all is well. I did have to repair permissions once. The machine boots in about 10 seconds now.
     
  5. aa521490 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #5
    Thanks. So far 1 successful swap. Anyone else. How about a disk drive? Anyone?

    Btw, what was your boot up time before?
     
  6. man02195 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    #6
    Replaced 320Gb with 1Tb WD Blue on March 4th, 2010. Used Carbon Copy and WinClone. No problems.
     
  7. aa521490 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #7
    No no. The macbook pros that were released yesterday with the all new internals:rolleyes:.
     
  8. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #8
    I would guess about 30 seconds. I didn't time it exactly, but the difference with a SSD is substantial.
     
  9. aa521490 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #9
    No one else?

    I'm holding out from buying the new macbook pros until I get more feedback.
     
  10. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    It's worth nothing that fuzzielitlpanda has another thread going where he's saying his intel x25-v isn't working with boot camp on his new 13" MBP.

    This wouldn't be the first time various SSDs (intel, ocz) would have had issues with boot camp and Apple's machines. I'd really like to hear from new 15" model owners about their SSDs and boot camp.
     
  11. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #11
    I agree. Important thing to note is that the SSD works just fine under Mac OSX. I did a fresh install and the SSD was recognized right away. It only becomes a problem when I try to use boot camp.
     

Share This Page