Post Your PowerPC Setup

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Goftrey, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #1
    I thought it'd be a sweet idea to make a thread for people who use this subforum to post their setups as there isn't one as of now. Happy posting!

    ----------

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. kdogsup macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Interesting..

    What does the Launchpad and Mission Control Icons in your dock do on your PPC based HW running :apple: 10.5.X, considering those are native to 10.7 :D ?
     
  3. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #4
    I wouldn't necessarily call them setup threads - for example post your oldest living Mac or post your PowerPC Macs - I could show you a bunch of towers in a cupboard but that wouldn't be a setup.

    ----------

    I just expanded on AQUADock's Lion theme for Leopard by changing the Spaces & Expose icons and changing Bodega's icon to the App Store:)
     
  4. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #5
    Living room:

    [​IMG]

    My desk (ignore the Intel):

    [​IMG]

    My Clamshell sits on the floor, so I'm not posting one of him. :D.
     
  5. thorns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #6
    @Goftrey: Are you sure the G5 isn't too close to the wall? Where is the exhaust air supposed to go?
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    This is my work setup.

    Both PowerBooks are mine. 17" G4 1.67Ghz Dual layer on the left, 17" G4 1Ghz on the right, both running Leopard.

    Under the desk, PowerMac G4/400 running Tiger. This is our Applescript server. Next to it on the right is my work PowerMac G5 1.8Ghz running Leopard. The G5 is driving the dual monitors on the desk.

    On the other side of my desk, my coworker has the other PowerMac G4/450 running Leopard.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. wobegong, Jul 7, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012
  8. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #9
    I was originally worried about that too but due to lack of space - that's the only place where I could put it. The CPU temperature never seems to rise above 50ºC which seems pretty decent to me.
     
  9. tayloralmond macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #10
    I had to do a little rearranging to get these shots, but here's my setup:

    Image 1:

    Top Shelf- iBook G3 500MHz 12" (Dual USB) and iBook G3 900MHz 14"
    Middle- Twentieth Anniversary Macintosh and Macintosh Plus
    Bottom- Mac Pro (1,1) and PowerMac G5 Quad

    Image 2: (left to right)

    PowerBook G3 Pismo (G4 Upgraded), iBook G3 466MHz (Firewire), PowerBook G4 1.5GHz 12", PowerBook G4 1.67GHz 17"

    Image 3:

    PowerMac G4 MDD Dual 1.42GHz (Overclocked to 1.5GHz)

    Image 4:

    iMac G3 (Summer 2001) 600MHz
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Zeke D, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012

    Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #11
    Okay,

    Dell 24" Monitor
    Hp LaserJet P1102w
    CanoScan Lide20 (PPC only)
    PowerMac G5 DP 2.0Ghz 160GB 2GB
    eMac 1Ghz 240GB 1GB

    The printer and G5 are running off an airport express. All of them are running Apple Remote Desktop so I can switch and stuff. I want to get an adapter so I can plug the eMac into the monitor.

    The eMac is my gaming/itunes machine. I also design and covers for my books and do a lot of writing on it.
    The G5 has only recently been resurrected, so I am actually installing stuff on it now. If I can solve the fan issue and it is stable, I will switch to the G5.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    I was packing and someone on another forum called me an Apple fanboy so I took this picture. :p

    2 are intels but the non intels are
    Power Mac G5 dual 2Ghz
    Power Mac G4 533Mhz
    Powerbook G4 1.25Ghz
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Starfighter macrumors 6502a

    Starfighter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    Here's my desktop setup:
    [​IMG]

    And here's my "mobile" setup:
    [​IMG]
     
  13. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #14
    There is more than PowerPC there..but it's current and subject to change at a whim.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #15
    PowerMac G5 Quad
    - as of now 14GB or PC2 4200 RAM
    - 60GB generic SSD as boot Drive
    - 1TB Seagate Barracuda as data drive
    - Nvidia Quadro FX4500 gfx card
    - iSight
    - 23" Aluminum Apple Cinema Display
    - wired ultra slim keyboard
    - wired mighty mouse
    - M-Audio AV40
    IMG_0241.JPG

    And this is the internals during one of the clean up days...
    IMG_0212.JPG
     
  15. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
  16. AQUADock macrumors 65816

    AQUADock

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #17
    I like your setup, so did you switch back to the Powermac?
     
  17. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #18
    Dark picture but anyway, everyone knows what a PM G5 looks like ;)

    Apple Cinema Display 20"
    Bowers & Wilkins MM1 Speakers
    PowerMac G5 Dual Core 2.3Ghz
    nVidia 7800 GTX 512Mb
    8Gb Ram
    2Tb Western Digital Black Hard Drive
    Dlink USB Wifi
    Logitech HD C510 Webcam
    Elgato Turbo H.264 USB Encoding Accelerator

    Apps/Games :- Office 2008, Aperture, iLife, Skype, Mactubes, Leopard-Webkit browser, TenFourBird, Spotify, Evernote, Dropbox, NetNewsWire, Call of Duty 1 & 2, Amnesia (newish game with PPC support!), Civilisation IV, Doom 3, Quake 3 & 4, Homeworld 2, Medal of Honor, Unreal Tournament 2004.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #19
    Yes, switched back to the powermac. I can really live with using the imac alone. But my daughter really likes the imac.

    ----------

    How's the performance of the MM1?
     
  19. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #20
    Awesome!!! :D
     
  20. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #21
    My setup that I used for middle school
    specs were
    PowerMac g4
    400mhz
    1.5gb RAM
    radeon 7000 32mb video card
    20gb master hdd
    160gb slave hdd
    dvd burning superdrive
    zip 100 drive
    running Mac OS X 10.4.11

    it also had upgraded cooling that made it sound like a bi-plane and a 20inch hd monitor.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #22
    I am going to replace my AV40's with an MM1... unless something comes up again.
     
  22. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #23
    i don't think you'll be disappointed, expensive but worth every penny if you really care about sound.
     
  23. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #24
    I want my music to be as accurate as possible that is why I have opted for AV40's. I wanted the BX's, but it is too big to be a desktop.
     
  24. Ariii macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #25
    I've just acquired a Key Lime iBook with 10.3 along with my current one, so that's my main machine now.
    [​IMG]

    And here's my dead iBook G4 1.33 GHz with 10.5.8 :( :

    [​IMG]

    And this is my 1 GHz AlBook. It's about to belong to my younger sister, so it's now completely clean and running the ML theme:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page