poster design advice.

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by SOLLERBOY, Jan 22, 2009.

1. SOLLERBOY macrumors 6502a

Hi, I am currently studying interactive media at college and am in the middle of an assignment. I must design and create a poster, ticket and dvd cover to promote a theme park. I could choose the theme of the park and the theme of the event. I handed this in and got a merit which is fine but I know I can do so much more. I have the opportunity to upgrade it once and had started to create a totally different design but I found out today that I can't change the theme. So here is the question.

What do you guys think of these images and how can I upgrade them ( BTW, I have only been using photoshop since October so they aren't brilliant.)

Image 1 is the poster, 2 the ticket, 3 the dvd cover and 4, the redesign that I can't use.

any comments are appreciated.
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

[​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

[​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

[​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

2. jdl8422 macrumors 6502

jdl8422

The first thing I noticed was on all of them the text gets lost and most of the type I cant read. Also, Im not sure if its your intent, but I dont get theme park when I see it. It looks like something NASA would put out. I know you said that you havnt used photoshop for long, but I think 99% of your problems with these are just basic fundamentals of design.

Image 1:
    The black textured background makes it too distracting. The red type is no where near legible for me. The font choices and colors also make it hard to read. I think overall it is too busy. I also find it is too heavy on the bottom, most of the composition is towards the bottom

Image 2:
    I think you need some margins on the piece. Also the type is again hard to read for me. I also personally think the image isnt too strong. That might just be a personal opinion

Image 3: