potential switcher - vista question

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by SOOPERNOOB!, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. SOOPERNOOB! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #1
    is there anything I can't do on vista-on-a-macbook vs. vista on a pc laptop?
     
  2. bbbensen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #2
    Nope, cause if you do BootCamp, then your not emulating it, your actually running it, just like that PC you have now.
     
  3. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #3
    If I understand your question, the answer is No. However Vista graphics may not get the most out of a graphics setup like that on the Macbook. Others with real world experience my chime in.
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
  5. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #5
    My MacBook had no issue with Aero Glass
     
  6. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    I have Vista SP1 installed on my MacBook (see sig below). Works just fine... for Vista that is. Graphics on the X3100 get a Vista score of around 3.5, but the rest of the system is in the high 4's and low 5's.
     
  7. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    That's better than my Work Vista VAIO (which got a 3.1).
     
  8. mosx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #8
    Keep in mind that, if you're looking at the MacBook with DVD writer, you can get a Vista PC with a dedicated GPU and possibly even a blu-ray drive.

    Many PCs (at least from HP) under $1,000 can be had with dedicated GPUs and similar real world battery life.

    Even if you don't plan on playing games, dedicated GPUs make a world of difference when it comes to video playback quality. It's not even a contest. It's complete night and day.

    I have an HP with a GeForce 8400M GS. Not only does video of all kinds (DVD, H.264, etc) look 100x better on the HP, but the CPU use is dramatically lower. 720p H.264 video on the MacBook can eat as much as 60% of one core (C2D 2.16GHz). But that same video on my HP (C2D 2GHz, Santa Rosa, GeForce 8400M GS) will peak at 7% of one core and go as low as 2%. Not only that, but the GeForce will do deblocking, proper color correction, proper upscaling, all of that neat stuff. Plus the MacBook's fans kick into high gear and it sounds like I have a small jet engine on my desk.

    The HP can play blu-ray movies at lower CPU use than the MacBook playing standard DVDs. Plus the HP has an HDMI output thats HDCP certified so I can hook it up to my HDTV and watch blu-ray movies on it.

    Like I said above, DVDs also look 100x better on the HP. The GeForce (even with Vista Home Premium's built-in decoder) will do practically ALL of the video work, from the deinterlacing to color correction to deblocking (getting rid of compression artifacting) and proper upscaling to any resolution. CPU use for DVD playback on the HP hovers around 2-5% for one core. On the MacBook it goes between 25-40% of one core. Plus DVD Player in OS X doesn't even have advanced audio features, such as the ability to decode the LFE channel (subwoofer) and send it out to speakers or headphones. All it has is a joke of an equalizer.

    If video quality is a concern, stay away from the MacBook. The only way to get decent video out of Apple products is to go with something that has a dedicated GPU and install Windows on it. Same goes for movie sound quality. Explosions and anything requiring deep bass falls flat, literally, on DVD Player because of the lack of LFE decoding.
     
  9. Uoila macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #9
    Your going to get everything you would on any other PC. A macbook runs windows exactly like a dell or hp would.

    However, there STILL aren't decent trackpad drivers for windows which means you don't get tap click or two finger right click. Oddly, two finger scroll still works.
     
  10. ki2594 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Carmel, IN.
    #10
    yeah ud need to get a optical mouse for a right click if u run windows. i wudnt no cuz im done with windows. leopard + macbook = ownage
     
  11. thesdx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #11
    I saw an app somewhere for Windows that let you hold down the trackpad for about 0.5 seconds, and emulated a right click. It was built specifically for MacBook users, but I can't remember the name of it.
     
  12. alwaysapple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #12
    I installed XP on my MacBook and I can use the two finger right click fine in windows. No problem at all. The Leopard disk came with all the drivers needed.
     
  13. chan2004 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    India, currently Zurich,Switzerland
    #13
    i am also a new convert

    got 2 tell you really dislike going back to windows after working in mac OS
    didn't even install windows in my mac till now

    mac os feels very good

    also, vista doesn't even hold a light to win xp. it is very slow.
    if you want to try windows, better stick with xp
    otherwise, vista shouldn't cause any problems.

    one more thing
    heard that vista on mac doesn't support some applications which are used for gaming.
    better check this out
     
  14. Uoila macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #14
    Maybe this should read: "i heard that vista doesn't support some applications which are used for gaming"

    If a game doesn't run, its either it has a problem running on vista, or the intel graphics can't handle it.

    There is no part of the game that checks what logo is on the laptop lid. Swap the apple with the dell logo and it would be the best looking laptop dell ever produced.

    The point is..... they are the SAME thing. The isn't really much which makes a mac a mac these days. I exclude EFI because thats not even apple specific, they are just the only people who include it standard.
     
  15. lil' brudder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #15
    I say with thankfulness that you are wrong,(it would suck if you had to have a mouse to right click) you can put two fingers on the trackpad and click the mouse button to bring up your right click. Granted, if it is for gaming you are gonna want a mouse anyway, but as far as browsing and whatnot, you can still right click just fine
     

Share This Page