pound sign

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by reeba, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. reeba macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Location:
    northern ireland
    #1
    Hi folks
    doe's anyone know how I can get a pound sign?
    I operate my buisness from home and was using a pc but we now have a mac and I'm stumped when it comes to sending out invoices to people and desperately need to know how to generate a pound sign.
    Thanks
     
  2. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #2
    Should be just above the number 3? or is that a euro for you?
     
  3. rsd macrumors member

    rsd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    do you mean GBP sign ,£, or the pound/hash sign ,#, ?
     
  4. reeba thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Location:
    northern ireland
    #4
    Hi, yes it was the GBP sign I was looking for and thanks for the help. It's a hash sign above the number 3 but when I hit the up key I get ££££ and not a hash sign, so many thanks folks.
     
  5. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #5
    A tip: Open the International system preference and check "Keyboard Viewer." This will make the viewer available under the flag on the right side of the menu bar. Mac old-timers will remember this as Key Caps.
     
  6. hughvane macrumors 6502

    hughvane

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
    #6
    If at some future stage you or anyone needs currency symbols, use the Character Palette, which is part of the OS, and is located in the keyboard flag drop-down menu in the top menu bar.
     
  7. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #7
    Do I hear an echo? I believe I do!

    (BTW, it's called the Keyboard Viewer, and you do have to turn it on as in the post above.)
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
  9. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
  10. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #10
    I think that is because there seems to be a lot of US sourced Mac's in Ireland.

    However, I don't know the reason for that (maybe something to do with the price ?).
     
  11. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #11
    My keyboard on my MBP (sourced in Ireland, along with a charming little Irish tricolour flying in the top right hand corner) sports the GBP sterling symbol over the number three. The Euro sign is over two, but requires "alt" to be clicked as well in order to bring it up. However, I was absolutely fascinated to learn that the charming flag was more than decorative; thanks to hughvane and IJ Reilly for enlightening me; that is really interesting. Quite genuinely, you learn something new on this forum every day.

    Cheers, thanks and good luck
     

Share This Page