Power Book Ti G4 Help

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by macmannate, Nov 26, 2014.

  1. macmannate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Ive got a 1ghz ti book, that accident cracked the screen due to flakey hinges :(

    I bought by accident a original one for 9bucks, can i use the screen out of this or will the logic board drop into that machines case?.

    Hope some one can help me on this.


    Thanks
     
  2. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #2
    The screens are not interchangeable, I wouldn't think the logic board would work either.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Actually, my son's 1Ghz Titanium DVI is using my old 400mhz TiBook's screen right now. I swapped it in a couple of years ago when I bought the DVI off eBay.

    The connector is the same, but the cable looks different. Regardless, it was all I had at the time.

    The older screen is lower resolution so one of two things can happen.

    1. The video chip on the LB uses the higher resolution and you end up with a screen that scrolls. Or…

    2. The video chip recognizes a lower resolution screen and ONLY displays the resolution that screen is capable of.

    Number 2 is what happened in my case. My son uses the old screen in his DVI at the highest resolution that screen is capable of which is a lower resolution than the video chip is capable of.

    He's had few issues, and the one's he's had have simply been related to the fact that that LCD is 13 years old.
     
  4. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    I thought the high resolution screen had a different connector but now I remember you mentioning using the low res screen on a 1Ghz Ti.
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Yep. I had actually ordered a new high-res screen, but I couldn't find one with hinges. So, I had the choice of trying to get the hinges out of an old working screen and possibly ruining it and then possibly ruining the replacement screen and my son is left with no screen at all.

    So, I just decided to use the old screen and thankfully the connectors are the same.

    What's funny is that I did not realize that Apple had changed the font on the PowerBook G4 stamp that's on the bottom center of the screen in later models. So, my son has a DVI, but with the 400mhz PowerBook G4 stamp on the LCD. Really kind of weird. :)

    There was a question awhile back about the connector difference between the HiRes 17" PowerBook G4 and the standard res 17" PowerBook G4. Apple DID change the connector on the high res model so it's not interchangeable between those two models.
     
  6. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #6

    Man, I'd love to have a 1GHz Ti. Those must fly.
     
  7. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #7
    I bought my second one a few hours ago, boxed with all the bits. Damn newbie bidder kept panic bidding and added several £££ to the cost.
     
  8. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #8
    Excellent thank you so much for the help, i can't wait to have my Powerbook back!, That scary part is removing the screen display cable from the casing getting it at the right angle to pull it through (sheesh apple didn't make that fun)

    Waiting on the replacement laptop now for parts, Ive got both the cables, as long as i used the lower res cable it should be fine i hope...


    Some Apple tech tried to tell me it works but will fry the board, I said shouldn't it just run at lower res? he goes yes, i go so that would be less effort for the gpu so explain to me the frying?...


    He had nothing,

    Glad some one else has tried it, its my classic os machine and early os x machine mainly for x-wing and old school games from when i was young in the early 90's.
     
  9. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    My son's DVI is a rocket on Leopard. It only has 1GB of ram, but it moves. :D
     
  11. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #11
    what was your trouble how did you get the lads cable out smoothly?
     
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #12
    I followed the directions on ifixit.com.

    Essentially if you follow those directions, you will end up dissassembling the entire computer. The logicboard comes out which lets you get to the connector.

    It wasn't a big issue for me because I've replaced the logicboard on TiBooks twice.
     
  13. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #13
    followed the same one just a bit nervous.
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    No worries. Just take it slowly and proceed at your own pace. It's not hard.

    If you find a connector that's really hard to get off, try a dental pick or some sort of object that can get between edges and work the edges until it comes out of the connector.

    The TiBooks are fairly easy when compared to the others. It's just involved.

    Some people put the screws and parts in bags according to the steps they follow, some have a mat they use and some put them in little cups. I tend to group things in my layout area based on the step and approximately where the screw or part would be located relative to the Mac.

    Whatever is easiest for you. Just take your time.
     

Share This Page