Power cut from PC while it was running

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Aditya_S, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. Aditya_S macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #1
    I'm sorry for this post since it is in the wrong place but there is no other place for me to get help. Anyways, I accidentally pressed the off button on my surge protector which my PC is plugged into and was running while this happened. I was watching something on YouTube when this occurred. I turned it on again and my PC took a while longer to boot up. Everything thing seems to run normally and it botted at normal speed when I turned it on and off but I'm worried something might be damaged. It was a Lenovo PC on Windows 10. Could damage have occurred to my PC?
     
  2. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #2
    It's probably fine. The only harm that can happen is when the data in the hard drive's buffer is not written to the disk before power is lost and filesystem inconsistencies occur. That's why it takes longer to boot; the OS is checking each filesystem and repairing it if necessary. Modern filesystems are generally good about this kind of thing and there's a pretty small chance something bad happened. A normal shutdown procedure forces a write of all data in the buffer to the disk before shutting it down.
     
  3. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #3
    When you have time issue this command: chkdsk /f/r. This command forces a full disk scan and will take while to execute.
     
  4. Aditya_S thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #4
    I just tried that in command prompt but it says access denied and I have insufficient privileges and I need to be in elevated mode.
     
  5. [AUT] Thomas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Location:
    Graz [Austria]
    #5
    You have to launch the cmd.exe as Administrator. /f/r might need a reboot though for the system drive to be checked.
     
  6. Aditya_S thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #6
    Figured it out, but after I restarted, it went straight to 10% and has stayed there for about 30 minutes
     
  7. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #7
    It will eventually finish.
     
  8. Aditya_S thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #8
    It's been almost 2 hours and it still is at 10%
    --- Post Merged, Mar 20, 2016 ---
    I left it for about 10 minutes and came back to it booted up. Do you guys think its finished. I want to restore my iPhone 6s in case the jailbreak comes out soon, but I'm worried something in the data transfer process might go wrong. Am I safe?
     
  9. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    You're fine ... Whilst its possible to lose data that had not been saved, or if installing windows updates that it may corrupt the update by turning off power prematurely, there is 99.9 % of the time very little damage caused. Powercuts happen (whether accidental or not) and its normal for windows 10 to take a little longer to boot after a powercut as it automatically runs checks on data integrity. You are back up and running, so just enjoy and stop fretting. :)
     
  10. Aditya_S thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #10
    So I'm perfectly ok to restore my iPhone with iTunes?
     
  11. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Yes. Restoring in iTunes will download latest firmware fresh if there is anything wrong with previously downloaded version if you have one, if not it will download fresh regardless. Restoring from a backup in iTunes should be ok again assuming you were'nt backing up at the exact time you turned the power off.

    Essentially you should be good to go. Any issues you can always force phone into DFU mode and that will likewise force iTunes to download new firmware and restore phone regardless.

    If you run into problems, its unlikely anything to do from the power cut.
     
  12. Aditya_S thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #12
    Ok, thank you for your responses and helping me out.
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    You're welcome. If you have any futher problems, post and we'll do our best to assist :)
     

Share This Page