Power Mac G4 MDD and boot disks

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bax2003, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. bax2003, Jul 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2012

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #1
    Here is my MDD disk setup:

    On ATA100 controller I have two disks, WD160GB (Master) and Maxtor 20GB (Slave).
    Leopard (10.5.8) is installed od 160GB and Tiger (10.4.11) is installer od 20GB.

    And now the boot thing:
    I can sellect with alt (option) Tiger as boot, and boot it ok, just on power on.
    After software reset, and option-boot, only Leopard disk is found.
    And also, when I am in Leoprd and select Tiger disk as Start Up disk in Preferences, again MDD is booting in Leopard.

    Power On boot menu:
    [​IMG]

    Restart boot menu:
    [​IMG]

    Is this normal or what is going on ?
    Is this maybe related to fact that Leo is installed on disk which is Primary master ?

    Again I can boot Tiger only on Power On and select Tiger as boot with option key.
     
  2. MAC MAN JW macrumors 6502

    MAC MAN JW

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo,Ny
    #2
    It should show both on restart My guess is maybe your Hard drive is on its way out. You can also try switching the drive cable with the Leopard HD and then if it only shows Tiger on restart it may be just a bad cable or the jumpers May not be right:)
     
  3. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    I've had the issue on a g5, but I have never owned an mdd. I messed with the jumpers and the problem went away. I don't remember if it was switching to cs or away from cs.
     
  4. bax2003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    One thing is for sure. 20GB disk is 100% ok.

    Zeke D gave me an idea. 20GB disk is set to be slave, not cable select, but than again, a tried disk on secondary ATA66 controler as master, and same thing happened.

    This is my first Power PC Mac. On Mac Pro, every time you option-boot, you will have all bootable disks available....but on MDD....just on power on....very strange.
     
  5. Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #5
    if you use cable select, both have to be jumpered cs. I heard someone say that the cable you use must be able to do cable select, too.
     

Share This Page