Power Mac g5 graphics card replacement?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by seenemo, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. seenemo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #1
    I realize its probably not worth the money, but im looking for a power mac g5 replacements graphics card. Preferably with a hdmi port.

    Here's the computers specs:
    Model Name: Power Mac G5
    Model Identifier: PowerMac7,2
    Processor Name: PowerPC 970 (2.2)
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of CPUs: 2
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 1.5 GB
    Bus Speed: 1 GHz

    if you need to know anything else about the tower just let me know.
    any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #2
    I doubt any graphics card from that generation had HDMI connection...I could be wrong but i doubt it.
     
  3. seenemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #3
    Nothing did, but something new would be ok 2, I'm just looking for a replacement that will work. Thanks:)
     
  4. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #4
    you can't really use any PC cards in a Mac unless you flashed it. And you have to find compatible cards to flash as well.
     
  5. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
  6. raysfan81 macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    I think that was the original dual G5 so i think it has an AGP (4X or 8x)? and some PCI-X slots.
     
  7. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #7
    Don't think you're going to find anything with an HDMI port that works, but I know there are Geforce 7800's that fit inside the AGP slot of those Powermacs. Flashed PC cards are of course the cheapest option.
     
  8. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Just use DVI->HDMI adapter when you'll find right card for your G5. Like written above, there is no card with HDMI output which would work with G5 (no matter AGP or PCIe one).
     
  9. seenemo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #9
    Well I just want to get rid of the apple specific outlet.. The adc port I think it's called.. Cause I have
     

Share This Page