Power Mac G5/Power PC

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dorene, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. Dorene macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #1
    I am wanting to install Leopard. Everywhere I check for minimum requirements it says the PowerPC is required. Since I'm shopping on ebay, and items not returnable, I want to make sure before I buy.

    When I check the 'About this Mac' this is what it says

    Machine Model: Power Mac G5
    CPU Type: PowerPC 970 (2.2)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 1.8 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 512 MB
    Bus Speed: 900 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 5.1.5f2
    Serial Number: RM410Z67NVR


    Based on this, I am thinking there should be no problem installing Leopard. Am I correct? Sorry if this is a stupid question but I wasn't sure if by Power PC they meant model or what I have.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Get a current Mac Mini. PowerPC has been dead for years.

    How the heck is PowerPC "required" for Leopard? :p
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Any G5 (with 512MB of memory and a DVD drive, which they should all have) is compatible with Leopard (NOT Snow Leopard though).

    http://www.tuaw.com/2007/10/16/leopard-system-requirements/

    You might not be satisfied with the performance on 512MB though. Unless you have a serious budget crunch or a specific reason to get a G5, I would echo the advice to get an Intel Mac.... (EDIT: Oh, sorry, I may have misunderstood... do you have the Mac already? Never mind the last part if you're shopping on eBay for SL not the Mac).
     
  4. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #4
    You should be good. But PowerPC isn't required; it's just allowed, for lack of a better word. ;)
     
  5. zerostar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #5
    Your 1.8GHz G5 will run Leopard (10.5) just fine! This is also the FINAL Mac OS X you can run, so upgrade, update and enjoy!!
     
  6. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    512MB of ram and a single 1.8GHz G5 processor will likely make Leopard a pain to use. I have a Dual 1.8GHz G5 with 3GB of RAM, and just then Leopard became very responsive. I was completely unsatisfied with running Leopard on a Dual 1.8GHz G5 with 1GB RAM.

    Basically what I am saying is that with a single 1.8GHz G5 processor (instead of a Dual like mine), and 512MB of RAM, Leopard will chug.
     

Share This Page