Power Mac G5. Worth Fixing?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Nick Welsh, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. Nick Welsh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    #1
    My school has an old Power Mac G5 which has stopped working. I was playing with it about 6 months ago and I thought the GPU was dead. 6 months later, and it looks like the PSU is shot. Is it even worth trying to save? We where looking to put it into the control booth for our auditorium, which is being completely re-thought as it's ancient.
     
  2. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Parts are probably quite cheap, but the effort of replacing a G5 PSU is immense as far as these repairs go.
     
  3. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #3
    Is it possible to just modify a regular PSU to work in it? ThePowerPC Hub did that with an old PM G4
     
  4. bobesch macrumors 6502a

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #4
    I thing, it's a better deal to buy some really cheap G5 with damaged screen and use your screen (and maybe RAM-chips and HDD) to build up that unit. You will also have other spare part, e.g. if the fan starts to get noisy...
     
  5. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #5
    Power Mac G5, no screen needed.

    powermacg5_profile-100043321-orig.png
     
  6. wlossw macrumors 6502a

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #6
    Recycle.
     
  7. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #7
    If you are interested in it, go ahead, it's a fun project.
     
  8. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #8
    I'd say give it a try, couldn't hurt to have a project. How do you know that its the power supply? I got a G5 recently that was given to me as having a dead power supply. Pressed the reset button on the motherboard and plugged it in and voila it worked perfectly!
     
  9. bobesch macrumors 6502a

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #9
    Stupid me! Sorry... (mixed it up with the imac G5):confused:
     
  10. mikiotty macrumors 6502

    mikiotty

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #10
    Go back to the Intel section. ;)
     
  11. wlossw macrumors 6502a

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #11
    All joking aside, he asked if it was "worth" fixing. Assuming he can fix it for free then as a student it may be worth it. The minute he has to spend more than a 100 bucks on it, the school is better off getting another computer, i assume they have limited resources.
     
  12. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Well, none included. Certainly one needed :p
     
  13. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #13
    "Power Mac G5. Worth Fixing?"
    As per the thread title...
    No screen needed to make the repairs.
     
  14. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    Yeah, worth fixing. I got a fully tested replacement PSU for my G5 from eBay for £10.
     
  15. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Woah woah, cease fire. Just playing with words bro ;)
     
  16. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #16
    technically you don't need a screen for a G5 once its setup, ever heard of VNC :p (you don't even need a Graphics card for that matter LOL)
     
  17. bobesch macrumors 6502a

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #17
    Huuh, sorry - I've been the one mixing up the PowerMac with an iMac.
    The "screen" has become a running gag obviously.:rolleyes:
     
  18. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #18
    Replacing the PSU in the G5 is challenging for sure but it can be done. When I got my PowerMac G5, the PSU was shot and I had to replace it. Has been running like a champ ever since :)
     
  19. TxBook macrumors newbie

    TxBook

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #19
    As far as the value equation goes... Which model G5 is it? If it's a single 1.6 or 1.8 model, it may not be worth much more than a learning exercise... not to say they aren't usable, just less practical. Also, didn't the G5 quad use a 1000watt PSU with a special power lead?
     
  20. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    Yeah it did, the Dual Core models also used the special power cord
     

Share This Page