Power Mac hard drive?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by eric55lv, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. eric55lv Guest

    eric55lv

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas,NV
    #1
    So as many of you know im looking for a iBook or PowerBook and i found a Power Mac G4 but it has no hard drive and is there a hard drive for it that i s 20 to 80 gb your help is appercatied
     
  2. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #2
    Um... Yes, most likely there exists, somewhere, a hard drive that fits into one...

    Why not post this as a WTB in the Marketplace, I ask you?
     
  3. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    The Power Mac will take any standard 3.5" Parallel ATA hard drive that you can buy off the shelf at Best Buy or your favorite electronics store. However, depending on the model of PowerMac, it might only recognize up to 128Gb of that drive.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Parallel ATA is also known as "IDE" or "PATA".

    128GB is only limited as native support or not. If it doesn't have native support, you can use "Intech ATA Hi-Cap" software to go beyond the limit (but you need to make a partition of a specific size). However, if you don't know what harddrive PowerMac can take, then you might want to get a harddrive 120gb.

    All PATA drives require setting a jumper to work.
    http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/IDE/add_2nd_drive/index.html

    Make sure that the powermac is tested as fully working. Typically reasons for selling an incomplete computer is that something is broken.
     
  5. eric55lv thread starter Guest

    eric55lv

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas,NV
    #5
    the Power Mac that im getting has AGP graphics
     
  6. eric55lv thread starter Guest

    eric55lv

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas,NV
  7. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    Don't know, the link you posted doesn't work anymore. Try just giving us the model number if you can find it.
     
  8. iCube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #8
    Put a Seagate 120GB Barracuda 7,200 rpm 8MB cache HD in it.
    Then put an ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition 128 MB VRAM AGP video card in it.
     
  9. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #9
    Aaaahh, G4 heaven. How fast is this sucker anyway?
     
  10. iCube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #10
    I'm not sure of the specs, we have never been given any other than AGP graphics. I'm not even sure if it's a Graphite or Quicksilver, single or dual CPU model. My Graphite 533 (Digital Audio) G4 with an ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition 128MB VRAM AGP video card, a 7,200rpm 120GB Seagate Barracuda, 768MB of RAM and OS X 10.4.11 runs pretty fast with a 22'' Samsung BW225 Wide Ratio LCD.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page