power macintosh g3 - all in one

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ericmillah, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. ericmillah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #1
    i receive salvageable materials all the time, and about a month ago i got an old school desktop. Power Macintosh g3 - all in one.

    it doesn't boot up. i took it all apart, cleaned everything, went through the service manual, reset the cuda, bought a new 3.6v battery, used a different power cord....

    im a handy guy, but im not too savvy with computers. i can use them, but im not educated on the hardware operations.

    i dont need a walkthrough or anything major, just some ideas on possible reasons for the malfunction. everything is in order according to the manual.
     
  2. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #2
    maybe the hard disk is dead or it is missing some essential boot files

    can you get the OS restore floppies?
     
  3. ericmillah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #3
    boot disks are out of question.

    i guess i will try an alternative (compatible) hard drive....if i can find one.
     
  4. hughvane macrumors 6502

    hughvane

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
    #4
    Get Mactracker http://www.mactracker.ca/ before you start spending too much time searching for bits 'n' pieces, and what's possible and what's not.

    For example, they came out with a 4 or 6 Gb hard drive, but apparently they'll take up to 128 Gb, which would makes your search for any necessary replacement easier.

    Try a computer recycling place for parts, also OS CD etc.
     
  5. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #5
    You say it doesn't boot, but is there any indication of power getting through or the Mac chime? Some all in ones had screen issues after a period of time, including early iMacs, although that wouldn't necessarily apply to your AIO.
    Unless you're getting some kind of drive or Mac icon flashing on a grey screen it probably won't work even with a new drive.

    You've had it apart. There's a DB 15 connector inside that would be compatible with an external monitor with an old Mac to VGA adapter.
     
  6. ericmillah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #6
    yes. i can hear the transformer power up. its a high pitched electric sound, very faint. i can hear it turn off too.

    i will check the monitor.

    if it is recieving power shouldnt the cdrom drive be able to open up?
    i cant get the thing to eject...
     
  7. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #7
    Ok, the cd is powered from a standard 4 pin drive power plug.
    This could be an indication that it's not a logic board problem, because I seem to remember the drive accepting cds even if the computer didn't boot.

    BTW, stick a straight paperclip into a hole on the far right of the cd drive to see if will open up.
     
  8. ericmillah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #8
    ok.

    cd drive is open, and doesn't close back up on its own. (thanks for the safety pin trick)

    i powered on and off and the disc drive still doesn't close. the drive is connected to the logic board. seems that i might have to check the power supply.
     

Share This Page