Power Nap not in Mountain Lion GM

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Collin789, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. Collin789 macrumors regular

    Collin789

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #1
    Just finished installing Mountain Lion GM and I never could find Power Nap. Will this be an update in the future?
     
  2. ClassObject macrumors 6502

    ClassObject

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #2
    Huh? Power nap?
     
  3. squidkitten macrumors 6502

    squidkitten

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    Isn't it available on certain machines only? I can't remember the exact models, but it was like the retina MBP and the newest MBA models only?
     
  4. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #4
    That is correct. Seems to only work on new macs with flash storage.
     
  5. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #5
    I'm positive this will require a firmware update. It'll probably be released on launch day (since Apple never said anything about Power Nap being available "later").
     
  6. Collin789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Collin789

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  7. rodknocker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #7
    There is following sentences about PowerNap on the Apple Website:


    Means not that you need to have on of the newest MB.
    Or what do you think?
     
  8. Collin789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Collin789

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #8
    Sounds like you just need a SSD to use it.
     
  9. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #9
    No, not every SSD will work. You must be using a mac with flash memory built in, like Macbook air second generation or newer or the retina macbook pro.
     
  10. rodknocker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #10
    You are right, "built-in flash storage" :-(

    But every SSD is also flash storage ;) Maybe they will open it for all MacBooks with installed SSD.
     
  11. weckart, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012

    weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #11
    Maybe. On my 2010 Macbook Air I was prompted to download an SMC Firmware update for Mountain Lion. I cannot find any info about what this is meant to upgrade or fix so am waiting for the official release just in case it makes things worse.

    SMC Firmware updates usually fix battery issues as far as I can tell, but it might just have something to do with Power Nap.

    [edit] as with Satre below, the update has been pulled.
     
  12. arashb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    #12
    Sadly I searched this up last night and you need to have purchased your MacBook with a factory SSD or flash memory. So us third party SSDers are out of luck, that is only until someone finds a way to bypass it.
     
  13. buddybd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #13
    I have a PN capable Air, don't see the option either. If i search for it in Spotlight, it brings up Energy Saver, which has no new options for this.
     
  14. Sartre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #14
    I've a 2011 MBA and was being offered a firmware update for Power Nap in the App Store, but it disappeared yesterday before I had a chance to install it. I assume Apple pulled it.
     
  15. bobbba macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #15
    Powernap needs an SMC Firmware update. There was one as part of the beta so I assume Apple will be putting it out when ML goes public.

    My guess will be that without a hack, it will need a Mac with an Apple supplied SSD such as the 2011 MBA.
     
  16. vigilant macrumors 6502

    vigilant

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #16
    I hardly think having the latest and greatest hardware means you get the newest fancy schmancy features buddy.

    *ducks*
     
  17. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #17
    It installed for me on my 2011 Air.

    ----------

    The SMC is a micro-controller on the logic board that controls the power functions for your computer. The SMC controls various functions, including:
    Power and thermal management, the Sleep LED, and battery.
    Controlling the fans, supporting Sudden Motion Sensor, ALS, and the power switch.
     
  18. shadow82x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
  19. Collin789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Collin789

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  20. Neurobit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #20
    Not on mine

    I have a Mid 2011 MBA and it doesn't show up on my power settings either (GM version of ML) so I'm thinking it will be updated via firmware once ML is released to the public.

    Neurobit
     
  21. ac3320 macrumors regular

    ac3320

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #21
    Per my usual morning routing, I opened my computer at 6:30 AM. Out of curiosity I checked when the latest Time Machine backup was. Lo and behold! It was at 6:24 AM. Puzzling! I checked when the one before that was: 5:24 AM. So it looks like Time Machine backups via Power Nap are working. Still nothing about it in the System Preferences. I have not updated firmware or anything. This may have been happening the whole time I have been on the GM, but I only checked it now.

    Something worth noting :)
     

    Attached Files:

  22. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #22
    I've had the same thing with lion I don't think this is new.
     
  23. ac3320 macrumors regular

    ac3320

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #23
    How is that possible?
     
  24. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #24
    power nap has a different purpose. it keeps pushing emails etc while your laptop is closed so they dont have to load up once u open the laptop, instead they will already be there and displayed.

    time machine always does a auto back up over night, doesnt it?
     
  25. ac3320 macrumors regular

    ac3320

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #25
    I didn't think TM was backing up overnight, at least not in Lion. Also, if that was the case, why would Apple advertise it as one of the new Power Nap features? "When your Mac is connected to a power source, it downloads software updates and makes backups with Time Machine," says Apple.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page