Power PC G5 fan noise

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mattdunlap2000, Jul 10, 2009.

1. mattdunlap2000 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am new to the Mac world but have been a fan of my PowerPC G5 for a year or so now. But lately the front upper fan has been constantly at full speed creating a loud whirling sound.

I have done a full diagnostic with the start up disk, made sure there is plenty of open space around the tower, I have blown it out with an air can, and even repaired disk permissions and have ran some virus tools... nothing seems to work.

This problem came out of no where and I need help as the noise is bothering everyone around me. Can anyone give me some advice?

2. Makosuke macrumors 603

Usually that's the symptom of a bad temperature sensor, but I'd kind of expect the hardware test to have noted that.

If you don't already have one available, download a program that can display the readings from the internal temp sensors. See if any of them (presumably the one in that area) are reading very high; that would tell you that either something happened to it or it's disconnected (temp sensors usually pin high if the connection is open).

If you're not sure post the numbers here and me or someone else with a G5 tower can compare.

3. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

The one I like the most is iStat Pro:
    http://www.apple.com/downloads/dashboard/status/istatpro.html

It gives you tons of great information about your system. :apple::apple:

4. mattdunlap2000 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, I'll give that a try and let you know the numbers....

5. mattdunlap2000 thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok so I got some numbers off of iStat Pro and the temps and RPMs are as follows:

Temps: HD-38, CPU A-76, CPU A ambient-31, CPU B-63, CPU B ambient-31, backside-40, Drive Bay-29, GPU-86

RPMs: CPU B Pump-2900, CPU A Pump-2900, CPU A Intake-2661, CPU A Exhaust-2927, CPU B INtake-2922, CPU B Exhaust-2870, Drive Bay-1000, and slot-237.