Power pc g5 issue

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by adooleydesign, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. adooleydesign macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #1
    The down low:
    I own a g5 power pc. I was doing some electrical work and needed to shut off the breakers. The computer was on. When i turned the power back on-I got nothing from the computer. I took it to apple store where i was told they no longer support those old systems (AKA no software in store). I was told to order the install discs and come back.

    I then took it to someone who pulled all the info off it. He told me he re partitioned my hd. Now that that was done i was able to go to town. The power is back but with the folder and ? flashing telling me WHERES MY OS?

    Ubuntu was aquired and used somewhere in there to LOOK at the HD or something...(I'm not the IT guy just trying to figure this system issue out.) I ordered tiger upgrade and now i have the panther install discs as well. This is where things get frustrating-as if it's not frustrating enough already.

    The pram and smu have been reset again and again. I'm trying anything on this! Held the power button in, i cant remember what else.

    I was reading on here about the issue when trying to come up with ideas and thought id get all of your insight.

    I get the prohibitory sign on my g5 and the fans run at high speed but nothing is accomplished.

    When trying the discs: The discs aren't bad. I tried them on my g4 and everything was fine. so why are they not working on my g5? I have tried starting from disc (C) countless times for hours at a time. Nothing. It gives me an apple screen but the apple is off kilter (not in the center of the screen like normal) and there are some pixelization issues on 2 sides (like the apple is in a square).

    While reading on here i saw someone mention something about install discs needing to be "special" for certain g5's. If anyone can give me insight on that topics that might b the only option left.

    I have an appointment at the apple store monday but im beginning to think the people that work there are only skilled with new gagetry. They finally added a chat feature on the apple support webpage (took long enough) but I've been on with them a few times and I'm beginning to think they are just people in front for computers searching google-I CAN DO THAT!

    SO.......

    Any suggestions?

    AD

    Oh, one more note. I catch a lot of flack for using old stuff. I'm guessing i won't get that here....but the reason is I have old hardware is because i have old software and do not want to buy new nor relearn the new either. Hence i have to have old stuff. Tiger I think (for some reason) is the highest OS I can go. So g5's is what I'm looking at getting. I know someone local who will sell me 2, I just have to take software and install discs and see if they are compatible or not.

    I would like to fix my existing g5 and only purchase one (I HATE WASTE!)

    Again, any advice will be appreciated. Hope I gave you enough data....there's so much of it and I can't remember in EXACTLY what order i did stuff....aaarrrggghhh!
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    The G5 can go as high as Leopard 10.5.8.

    But most G5s shipped with a specific install disk for their model. However, if you can get a hold of a universal Tiger or Leopard disk I'd try booting from that.

    BTW, I can't tell you how many times holding down the 'C' key has failed me. I usually just hold down 'OPTN' when booting and select the optical drive.

    And no, you won't be told to use new stuff here. I'm typing this on a G4 Quicksilver and most of us here have several types of PowerPC Macs.
     
  3. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #3
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    If you have a FW400 cable you could link your G5 and your G4 together.
    Then boot the G5 into FireWire Target Disk mode, (press and hold the "T" key at power on),
    now boot your G4 as usual, the G5 should show up as a HDD on your G4 and from here you can use Disk Utility
    on the G4 to partition and format the G5.
    You could also use an app like Carbon Copy to clone the G4 to the G5, this should at least get you back up and running.
    Another option...
    You could also try booting the install disks on your G4 and install to the G5 this way, just be careful when you select the HDD to install to.
     
  5. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #5
    Ive done the option before too, tried it again, just to make sure. I get the os disc image with the restart on the left and the arrow on the right. When i hit the arrow it takes me to the prohib sign.
     
  6. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Are you sure it is a leopard install DVD? I reccomend downloading and burning a Leopard ISO from the Macintosh garden
     
  7. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #7
    Any recommendations getting to the single user mode? I cant seem to get there. Power, chime, command (apple) + S, held for 5 min. It just did it's normal routine....blue screen (a bit of a flicker on it-it's been doing that lately) smooths out, does the folder and ?, then the apple, then the prohib.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2016 ---
    Oh, and i have already tried the whiping out the disc. Done it a couple times, no go. After ubuntu and before i got the panther discs in the mail i tried starting from tiger, it doesn't let me but i can get to disc utility though there.
     
  8. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #8
    Are you using a USB or a Blue-Tooth keyboard?
     
  9. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #9
    I have nothing to burn with...i could try my g4....have to check. The discs i got are black with silver X MAc OS Panther Version 10.3 Install Discs 1-3. 2Z691-4586-A
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2016 ---
    USB
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2016 ---
    I don't have a FW cable, can anything else be used? I think all i have is usb and ethernet. I'll keep that in mind......
     
  10. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
  11. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #11
    It's not leopard its panther 10.3.

    Im at macintosh garden now trying to download Mac_OS_X_Public_Beta_CD.dmg_.zip

    Hopefully this does.....something.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2016 ---
    Gotcha
     
  12. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #12
    You might try updating your location (in your profile) just in case someone on the forum is close and willing to offer some help :)
     
  13. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    Public Beta is not going to run on a G5! That's not even 10.1 which is two versions below the minimum that ANY G5 needs to run.

    You want a universal Tiger 10.4 or Leopard 10.5 disk.
     
  14. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #14
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2016 ---
    I wish i had read that....I'm looking now.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2016 ---
    I can't find anything on mac garden. Any other ideas for finding a download of 10.4?

    eyoubgren-you say that a g5 HAS to have an OS of 10.3...is that correct?
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2016 ---
    im looking on my g4, man is it slow, i am not sure what exactly i need-nor can i find it....lol.

    Can anyone with experience send me a link to a download?

    I'm seeing torrent stuff; tiger had to versions...DVD and 4 disc (including the tool disc?), do i need something special?

    Is ANY of this going to even help? Why can the g5 load the panther install discs?
     
  15. Dronecatcher, Mar 6, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2016

    Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #15
    This might seem a strange suggestion but can you boot from an install disk with your hard drive disconnected? I've had a similar situation with a G4 that had two drives - couldn't get anywhere until I disconnected the hard drives - found that one drive was defective and it was the cause of not being able to boot into anything.
     
  16. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #16
    Only the very first G5s could take Jaguar (10.2). The rest need 10.3 at least and all of them were machine specific. Which is why I'm saying a Tiger or Leopard universal disk.
     
  17. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #17
    I'm asking around for a fire wire cord, that seems to be the most reliable idea...but I have an apple appt. tomorrow so hopefully THEY will be able to tell me is the HD is shot. BTW, what does HDD stand for hard drive something?
    --- Post Merged, Mar 6, 2016 ---
    Also, the hd disconnected? I was under the impression that with no hd no computer. So if i detach and try it "might" work?
     
  18. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #18
    With no hard drive, the computer will boot from a CD/DVD if present - it might confirm your HD is causing all the problems and can't be fixed whilst it's the boot drive.
     
  19. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #19
    I've only got one hd (top right hand corner to g5 tower), i unhooked the big and small connector, nothing different happened.. Same situation. I have to get to work but hopefully i can remove it totally when i get home and try it again.
     
  20. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #20
    i have removed the hd entirely from the tower (it won't do anything different) and am starting it up now....Yep, same screen with pixelization. I tried it again with the option key, got the prohib. ....again. Ill take it in to apple tomorrow and see if they can tell me whats wrong.

    Thanks guys for the ideas.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 6, 2016 ---
    Any insight as to what else it might be besides the hd?
     
  21. val1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #21
    It stands for Hard Disk Drive :)
     
  22. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #22
    The motherboard solder is cracking and is bad. Motherboard replacement is needed as there is no longer lead in the solder. The lead allowed for flex due to heat. At this point the motherboard has heated and flexed and cracked solder joints. Lead was removed years ago for environmental reasons.
     
  23. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #23
    I have been to the apple store and they tell me the optical drive is bad. So tell me, if the optical drive is bad then why does it read the Tiger upgrade disc enough to tell me that I can't upgrade with out the base installation of panther 10.3?

    BTW they say you guys are wackos...you're more help than they are thats for sure!

    So I have obtained an external cd-rw (USB) as well as a DVD. Tried the CD but it didn't work. It gave me nothing. I'm doing the option key held down at boot. I am trying the DVD now. It looks to be the same thing.
     
  24. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #24
    its the motherboard.

    had alot of issues with the G5s
     
  25. adooleydesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    #25
    thank you for specifying...i wasn't sure where you were coming from.
     

Share This Page