Power PC G5 vs newer MAC

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lutherbaker, Jul 29, 2007.

1. lutherbaker macrumors newbie

I have an older G5 dual 2.0GHZ mac with 1.5 G of ram. I used it with ProTools for several years and now I now longer use it in the music studio.

I am a developer - and I would like to start writing software with the Mac. I am happy to upgrade the OS from Panther to either Jaguar or Leopard later this year - but I am slightly concerned about:

1 - performance
    2 - compatibility

Would I be significantly better off going through all the hassel of selling the unit on Ebay and purchasing a newer, entry level Mac. I don't want to spend 'more' money than I could sell the G5 for ... so I think that means somewhere between 1000 and 1500.

I am quite happy with the dual proc - and I suspect that while it may not be as zippy as the newer machines - it may perform better were I running Tomcat and Eclipse and writing Java or Objective-C development environments. I have friends that weren't extremely impressed with performance boosts from the early intel chips ... and so if I wouldn't significantly notice such, I would be happy keeping the dual proc that I currently have.

Also - is new software being written for INTEL only or generally, will I be just fine upgrading to Leopard and installing most any modern software package.

Thanks for any advice.

-Luther

2. Willis macrumors 68020

Willis

You have a very nice system there. Really, I dont think you will see many real world gains from leaving the dual G5 and going to say an iMac.

The G5 is far more expandable which gives it a longer life span.

The only issue is that some developers (ie. Adobe) have started to make some software Intel only, not Universal.

On the whole though, you can make Universal apps from a PPC mac so like I've already said, your G5 has a lot left in it. My only advice is up the ram a bit more :)

3. chatfan macrumors regular

chatfan