Power Reserve Mode Clock

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Itinj24, Aug 14, 2019.

  1. Itinj24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Is there a practical way of checking the time in power reserve mode? For me, the only way I can get the digital time to show is some seemingly random clicks of either the Digital Crown or side power button. Is this normal?
     
  2. jonblatho macrumors 65816

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    That’s by design; wrist detection is disabled when Power Reserve is on along with pretty much everything except the display, and the display is enabled only when you press the side button.

    It’s not like Low Power Mode on an iPhone where the device is still very much usable. In Power Reserve, the Watch’s sole function is to tell you the time.
     
  3. Itinj24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    I understand but it’s not just a press of the side button. It’s more like 4 presses lol. The amount of battery being used to show that small digital time is negligible. Should be always on at that point. To have to press the button 4 times to show the time is counter intuitive and useless IMO.
     
  4. jonblatho macrumors 65816

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    I usually have to hold mine very briefly, but if you’re having to press it four times, are you sure the button’s working properly?
     
  5. Itinj24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Pr
    The button (crown and side button) work properly for everything else. When you say hold briefly, are you saying it’s more of a tap and hold?
     
  6. honglong1976 macrumors 65816

    honglong1976

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Sounds like you have a side button problem.

    One press on mine and the time comes up. There is a delay. Press once, wait! It should appear.
     
  7. Itinj24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Side button works fine for everything else. Maybe I’m not waiting for this delay and pressing three more times before it finally comes up lol.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 16, 2019 at 12:55 AM ---
    Ok, thank you for your help. I always figured the time is supposed to show immediately. I’m probably pressing three more times during this delay and coincidentally, it comes up on press 4 lol. Just tested and there is a good 3-4 second delay. Works with the crown too BTW. Thanks again.
     
  8. honglong1976 macrumors 65816

    honglong1976

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    You're welcome. Happy to help!
     
  9. jonblatho macrumors 65816

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Missouri
    #9
    Yes, but for a split second.
     
  10. Itinj24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Thanks for your help. I didnt realize that there’s a 3-4 sec delay after hitting the button to the time displaying
     

Share This Page

9 August 14, 2019