Power Supply for G4 MDD

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Xmsteel, Apr 26, 2016.

  1. Xmsteel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Location:
    Washington State, USA
    #1
    Hey all,



    I've had a dead Powermac MDD sitting in my room for a couple years now that I picked up for free because it wouldn't turn on. I came to the conclusion it was the PSU, so I took it out and tossed it years ago. Now, here I am, no PSU and a useless MDD.



    I really want to get this thing up and running, but seeing the prices of PSU on ebay are absolutely ridiculous. I'm hoping someone here has a working one they are willing to part with and sell to me. (Me pay for the part + shipping). Also would be interested in an OS disk that will work for the machine so I can get her up and running.
     
  2. Czo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    #2
    You can modify any PC/ATX power supply: http://atxg4.com/mdd.html . If you choise a very small and powerfull modell, you can swap it's internals, and put the complete atx psu into g4's original psu chassis.
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    That definitely worked for me years ago in my old Sawtooth G4.
     
  4. thesaz123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    York, PA, USA
    #4
    I have a sawtooth G4 power supply somewhere I believe... If you are interested, send me a message and you can have it for price of shipping. Not sure it that will work for you or not.
     
  5. Czo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    #5
    You can't interchange an mdd and sawtooth power supply, it's using very different wiring and voltage levels.
     
  6. thesaz123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    York, PA, USA
    #6
    Okay, my bad! Sorry OP!
     
  7. Xmsteel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Location:
    Washington State, USA
    #7
    I appreciate the thought. That's probably my biggest problem (or anyone's with a MDD). Not only do they fail often but they are different than non-MDD. So that means prices go up and everyone on ebay sells for a profit and everyone needing one is SOL, unless they get something else to work.

    I'd swap internals but unfortunately young dumb me threw away the PSU (before knowing they were more expensive and all that jazz) so I don't even have anything to work with. Have a bunch of regular PC tower PSUs though...
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #8
    Not sure if this thread got derailed or not. Czo's link to modifying an ATX power supply will work just fine in your MDD.

    The same website has instructions for modifying an ATX to work in a Sawtooth, which is what I did years ago. The modified PS is still working fine in the Sawtooth.
     
  9. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #9
    I have a PS that came as a spare when I purchased 2 MDD's off Craigslist.
    I've never had any use for it and cannot say for sure if it is any good, but worse case it would give you the parts for a conversion.
    PM me if this interests you.
    IMG_0227.jpg IMG_0228.jpg
     
  10. Xmsteel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Location:
    Washington State, USA
    #10
    I did the "start a conversation" thing. Hopefully that's the same thing. Can't seem to find any other option that would resemble a PM.
     
  11. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #11
    That works just fine.:)
     

Share This Page