power supply question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rock909, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. rock909 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    Hi all I have the 2.66 quad mac pro (early 08). I have a 8800 GTS in my pc i want to swap but i see the power cable is totally different connecting to the motherboard than my pc. My theory is can I put my 850Watt Power supply in the mac pro so i can connect my 8800 gts (keep in mind i am only running windows not mac OSx)

    thanks!
     
  2. super_kev macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #2
    So are you asking if you can replace your Mac Pro's power supply with a generic 850W power supply? Good luck. You'd probably be better off buying or making a special power cable for the 8800 GTS. :)
     
  3. rock909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #3
    Gotcha, I will invest in that power cable then. Are there any resources as to how to make it? (Sorry if this is on the forums didn't see a link)
     
  4. moalbaker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #4
    rock909. what happened to the power supply?

    im really interested.

    let me know please.
    thank you
     
  5. rock909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #5
    Well I know it CAN be done because I have seen pics, I am going to prolly rip it apart soon and see what I can find, i know it has to be possible...
     
  6. super_kev macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #6
    I don't know of any resources of the top of my head, but my guess would be to purchase a power cable that's compatible with the MP power supply, an 8800 GTS power cable, then splice and solder them together.
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
  8. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #8
    If the board your trying to install into the MacPro has the standard Hard-disc like Molex (like those on Hard Drives), then why not buy a couple standard Y-Splitters and take the power from the second DVD bay? There's a spare socket there for additional optical devices, though you'd need to manually route the cable to the cards.
     

Share This Page