Power supply

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by justinkr, Feb 6, 2017.

  1. justinkr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    #1
    So my old cmp 2,1 im not quite happy with the power I receive because sometime when I use all my usb port my mac pro start to fail start up. I was thinking the power supply didn't give good amount of power. Sometime my mac start up and reboot itself.

    Will it work if I install CMP 3,1 or any tower power supply on my Mac Pro?
     
  2. justinkr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    #3
    Aren't they the same size?and same watt?
     
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    I believe the 3,1 and 4,1/5,1 were slightly larger in terms of watts.

    Physically, I think they're the same size but, as far as I know, they are not interchangeable between generations.
     
  4. justinkr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    #5
    So instead of installing mac pro power supply can I install other power supply like hackintosh and PC builder did?
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    Not easily. They are proprietary power supplies.
     
  6. justinkr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    #7
    Alright thanks bro.
     
  7. Macschrauber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #8
    The power supplies are not interchangeable - and I doubt the issue is your PSU.

    You may use a powered USB Hub if USB power is the problem.
     
  8. Acden macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    #9
    I try to explain what he mean. Size could be not the same. Power is not important, as newer surely has more power and it is not bad.
    But the most problem - It could have another connectors to motherboard!
     
  9. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #10
    All cMPs have 980W PSU, and they're all physically the same dimensions. 4,1 and 5,1 have different connections than 1,1-3,1s do, but I don't know how power is distributed through connectors comparing 1,1/2,1 to 3,1. Is it same Amperage and Wattage, I really don't know (try to find online images of PSU stickers and compare branches).

    That being said, take a look in this topic for some info: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/granites-2006-to-2008-mac-pro-upgrade-guide.1595303/

    P.S. I really don't think that USB ports can cause 1kW PSU to misbehave, maybe check some other things too?
     
  10. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
  11. justinkr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017

Share This Page