Power Usage in New PC Build

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by barr08, Mar 24, 2010.

1. barr08 macrumors 65816

barr08

Hello everyone!

I am once again posting a PC question in the community discussion board, as there is really no other place on this forum to discuss PC stuff. /disclaimer

I am building a new PC, basically starting from scratch. The specs are in my sig. I have little experience inside a PC, but I am learning more every day.

I have a good quality Antec Earthwatts 500w PSU that I am planning on using. However, I am really worried that 500w won't be sufficient for my components. I would like to try, however, as I am doing my best to keep this build as cheap as possible.

I used this website to calculate the wattage I would need, and it quoted me at 440w. Am I cutting it too close with only 60w to spare?

Thanks in advance for your insights on this!

(Edit: Full component list added in post #5)

2. charlesbronsen macrumors 6502a

charlesbronsen

should be fine but if you plan on overclocking I would get something a bit bigger

3. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

barr08

Yes, my new MOBO has a lot of overclocking features, and I know people have OC'd the crap out of the i7 920. I plan on buying a new CPU cooler and PSU if/when I decide to OC.

For now, I just want to use my current PSU for a while, since I just dropped a bunch of dollars on the MOBO, Case and 2nd GFX card.

What kind of harm can an underpowered PSU do to your components? Would I just see sub-par performance, or can it fry my components?

4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

I'd like to know more about the specifications. Otherwise the Earthwatts 500W is a solid power supply.

5. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

barr08

Components:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout Mid-Tower case
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHz (pulled from Dell Studio XPS)
    ASRock x58 Extreme Motherboard
    4x 1Gb 1066 DDR3 Ram (pulled from Dell Studio XPS)